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State Budget 
 

The following section is a summary of the FY 2012-2013 state budget. Of 
special interest is the elimination of the state prisoner transfer, elimination of 
the HURF shift to fund MVD, and the absence of a multi-million dollar transfer 
to the state from Maricopa County funds.  
 
Gov. Jan Brewer signed the $8.6 billion budget sent to her by the state 
legislature on a mostly party-line vote.  The budget includes increases for 
certain education, public-safety and health programs and places $450 million 
into a "rainy-day fund."  Please see below for an overview of provisions within 
the budget that impact counties. 
 
 

SB1523 general appropriations; 2012-2013  
 

• Law Enforcement Boating Safety Fund (LEBSF):  Appropriates $2,183,800 
to be used by the counties.  Sec. 7 
 

• County Attorney Immigration Enforcement:  Maintains $1,213,200 for 
county attorney immigration enforcement, specifying amounts for the 
Maricopa County Attorney ($200,000) and the Maricopa County Sheriff 
($500,000).  Sec. 7 
 

• County Attorneys Fund:  Provides $973,600 of ACJC grant monies. Sec. 24 
 

• HURF to DPS:  Continues transfer from HURF to DPS and withstands the 
statutory cap removal.  Sec. 80 
 

• Court Fund Sweeps: Sweeps a total of $6 million in FY2013 and FY2014 out 
of a combination of court funds as follows:  State Aid to the Courts Fund, 
$50,000; Alternative Dispute Resolution Fund, $200,000; Arizona Lengthy 
Trial Fund, $100,000; Public Defender Training Fund, $25,000; Judicial 
Collection Enhancement Fund, $400,000; Criminal Justice Enhancement 
Fund, $75,000; Drug Treatment and Education Fund, $150,000; Juvenile 
Probation Services Fund, $5 million. Sec. 127 
 

• ASRS Pension Contribution Rate:  HB2264  ASRS; employee; employer 
contributions; rate  (Robson) changes ASRS employer/employee contribution 
ratio from 47%/53% back to 50/50, retroactive to June 30, 2011.  The budget 
appropriates $8,057,100 to compensate state and school employees for the 
overpayment. Sec. 132 
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SB1526 revenue; budget reconciliation; 2012-2013  
 

County Flexibility Language: As session law, allows counties to use any source of 
county revenue to meet a county fiscal obligation for FY 2013.  Additionally counties 
are required to report to the Director of JLBC on the intended amount and sources of 
funds by October 1, 2012. Sec. 26 
 
 
SB1528 health; welfare; budget reconciliation; 2012-2013  

 
• Arizona Long Term Care System (ALTCS): FY 2013 county contributions 

$243,220,500 for all 15 counties. Sec. 9 
 

• Sexually Violent Prisoners (SVP)/Restoration to Competency (RTC) 
Payments: Continues county payments for 100% of RTC patients and 50% 
of SVPs housed at the AZ State Hospital.  Includes "flexibility language" 
allowing the counties to pay via any county resource. Sec. 10, 11 
 

• AHCCCS: AHCCCS must transfer any excess monies back to the counties 
by December 31, 2013 if the counties’ proportion of state match exceeds the 
proportion allowed to comply with the Federal Affordable Care Act. Sec. 14 
 

• County Acute Care contribution: FY 2013 County Acute Care contribution 
is $48,225,500. This amount includes an inflation indexing of the Maricopa 
County contribution (Laws 2005, Ch. 328). Sec. 15 
 

• Disproportionate Uncompensated Care Pool (DUC Pool): Requires the 
collection of $2,646,200 in DUC Pool contributions from counties other than 
Maricopa. Sec. 16 
 
 

SB1531 criminal justice; budget reconciliation; 2012-2013  
 

• State Capitol Post-Conviction Public Defenders Office:  Eliminates the 
Capital Post-conviction Public Defender Office and its Fund of $161,000. Sec. 
1, 2, 6, 12, 13, 24 
 

• Prison shift: Repeals triggered shift, from last year’s budget, SB1621. Sec. 
14, 28 
 

• Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF) to the Motor Vehicle Division 
(MVD):  Eliminates the shift from local government HURF to MVD for 
FY2012-FY2013. Sec. 19 
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• Suspension of County Non-Supplanting Funding Requirements:  
Suspends county non-supplanting requirements associated with funding for 
probation services, criminal case processing, and alternative dispute 
resolution programs.  Sec. 21 
 

• Suspension of Grand Jury and Attorney Reimbursement:  Suspends the 
requirement that the Supreme Court reimburse counties 50% of the costs of 
grand juries and state-funded counsel assigned to first-time capital post-
conviction relief proceedings. Sec. 22 
 

 
Miscellaneous Provisions from FY2012-2013 Budget 

 
• Mandated county cash contributions: Eliminated.  

 
• Indigent Defense Fund:  No ACJC grants were appropriated for this purpose 

in FY 2012-2013. 
 

• Justice of the Peace salaries:  Continues to require Maricopa County to pay 
100% of the JP salaries; maintains the 80.75% share for other Arizona 
counties. 
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 Maricopa County Board of Supervisors 2012 
      Legislative Agenda 

 
HB 2283 – State Employee Benefits; Definition  
Chapter 40 (Reeve) 
The legislation clarifies that a statutory delay in Arizona State Retirement System 
benefits (enacted by Laws 2011, Chapter 277) applies only to judicial employees that 
are paid through the Arizona Department of Administration, and not to judicial 
employees funded by county governments.   
 
HB 2370 – Death Certificates  
Chapter 60 (Carter) 
The legislation expands the types of health care providers who can sign a medical 
certificate of death, and specifies that the county medical or alternative medical 
examiner is entitled to all medical records and related records of a person for whom the 
medical examiner is required to certify cause of death.  If a person dies of natural 
causes in a hospital, nursing care institution or hospice inpatient facility, the hospital, 
nursing care institution or facility must designate a health care provider to complete and 
sign the medical certification of death within 72 hours. The bill also states that a health 
care provider who completes and signs a medical certification of death in good faith is 
not subject to civil liability or professional disciplinary action. 
 
SB 1141 – Public Fiduciaries; Investigatory Power 
Chapter 172 (Driggs) 
The bill permits county public fiduciaries to conduct an investigation if the persons 
responsible for the duty to bury or provide funeral and disposition arrangements for a 
decedent are not willing, financially able, or cannot be located. 
 
SB 1152 – Homeless Court; Establishment; Jurisdiction 
Chapter 180 (Driggs) 
The bill allows the presiding judge of the superior court in each county to establish a 
homeless court to adjudicate cases filed in a justice of the peace court or a municipal 
court in the county, and to establish the eligibility criteria for referral to the homeless 
court.  It allows a justice of the peace or municipal court judge who has jurisdiction over 
a case that meets the criteria to refer the case to homeless court, with the approval of 
the prosecutor, and requires the originating justice court to maintain jurisdiction of a 
case that is referred to homeless court.  It authorizes any judicial officer in the county 
where the offense occurred to adjudicate a case referred to the homeless court. 
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 Other Bills of County Interest 
 
 Animal Care and Control  
 
HB 2462 – Animals; Seizure; Hearing; Forfeiture 
Chapter 73 (Ugenti) 
The bill establishes procedures relating to the seizure of animals that are cruelly 
mistreated or cruelly neglected.  It allows an animal determined not to be vicious to be 
returned to the owner or to an animal shelter or adoption agency.  It outlines steps a 
peace officer, county enforcement agent or animal control officer must take to notify an 
owner of a vicious animal when it is seized, requires a hearing to be held regarding the 
animal, and provides the seizing agency with the burden of establishing by a 
preponderance of evidence that the animal was subjected to abuse or will needlessly 
suffer if humane destruction is delayed.  Exemptions from the provisions of the bill are 
permitted for agricultural purposes, equine seizures and local governments that adopt a 
bonding and forfeiture ordinance equal to or more stringent than those required by the 
bill. 
 
HB 2605 – Law Enforcement Dogs; Biting 
Chapter 74 (Mesnard) 
The bill excludes law enforcement agency dogs from statutory procedures relating to 
when a dog bites any person.  
 
HB 2780 – Animal Cruelty; Ranching Dogs 
Chapter 258 (Judd) 
The legislation prohibits a city, town or county from adopting an ordinance that prohibits 
or restricts an activity involving a dog, whether the dog is restrained or not, if the activity 
is directly related to the business of shepherding or herding livestock and the activity is 
necessary for the safety of a human, the dog or livestock or is permitted by the 
Arizona’s agriculture code. 
 
 
 Courts and Criminal Justice  
 
HB 2019 – Sex Offender Registration; Multiple Residences  
Chapter 23 (Robson) 
The bill requires a sex offender who has more than one address, at the time of 
registering as a sex offender and upon moving, to provide a description and physical 
location of any temporary residence and to register as a transient at least every ninety 
days with the sheriff in the jurisdiction that they are physically present. 
 
HB 2374 – Deferred Prosecution programs; Conditions 
Chapter 52 (Farnsworth)  
The legislation expands the county attorney’s ability to defer prosecution and narrows 
the offenses that would prohibit a deferred prosecution. A deferred prosecution program 
is defined as a special supervision program that allows a county attorney to divert or 
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defer, before a guilty plea or a trial, the prosecution of a person who is accused of 
committing a crime. Each county may set up their own deferred prosecution program.  
 
The bill allows a county attorney to divert or defer a prosecution for a person who has a 
previous felony charge as long as they have not been convicted of any of a serious 
offense, dangerous offense, sexual offense, or a dangerous crime against children. It 
also prohibits a county attorney from diverting or deferring a prosecution of a person 
who has been convicted three or more times of personal possession of a controlled 
substance or personal possession of drug paraphernalia. 
 
HB 2382 – Criminal Offenses; Sentencing 
Chapter 96 (Farnsworth) 
The bill raises the monetary threshold in which the superior court has original and 
concurrent jurisdiction to fines that do not exceed $2,500.  The bill also raises the 
mitigated sentencing range for category one repetitive offenders who have committed 
class 3 felonies from 1.6 to 2 years and lowers the mitigated sentencing range for 
category one repetitive offenders who have committed class 4 felonies from 1.1 to 1 
year.  
 
HB 2390 – Home Detention Programs 
Chapter 97 (Pratt) 
The bill removes the requirement for prisoners who are selected for the home detention 
program to be employed within the county in which the city or town is located. 
 
HB 2369 – Electronic Medical Records 
Chapter 184 (Carter) 
The legislation makes a variety of clarifying changes to health information organization 
statutes and allows for the electronic submission of prescription orders for schedule II, 
III, IV and V controlled substances.  It amends statute to exempt inmates (as defined 
under federal regulations) from mandated notice of individual rights outlined in A.R.S. 
§36-3802. 
 
HB 2442 – Prisoners; Payment for Drug Testing 
Chapter 208 (Gowan) 
The legislation authorizes the Board of Executive Clemency (Board) or the Arizona 
Department of Corrections to order persons on parole, community supervision, 
probation or home arrest to pay a drug testing fee.  The amount of the fee is to be set 
by the Board, but cannot exceed the costs of the drug testing program. Monies collected 
from the fees must be used to offset the drug testing program costs. 
 
HB 2449 – Supreme Court; Audit; Hearing 
Chapter 209 (Gowan) 
The bill requires the Judiciary Committees in the House and Senate to meet jointly and 
hold a hearing on the audit of the Administrative Office of the Courts each time the 
Auditor General completes such an audit at the request of the Joint Legislative Audit 
Committee. 
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HB 2284 – DUI; Jury Trial 
Chapter 236E (D. Smith) 
The legislation requires the court to inform a defendant that they may request a trial by 
jury at each arraignment.  If the request is made, it must be granted by the court.  It 
excludes certain DUI offenders from requesting a jury trial if a trial has commenced, or if 
the defendant pled guilty or not contest between January 1, 2012 and April 11, 2012.   
 
The bill applies retroactively from and after December 21, 2011, and became effective 
April 11, 2012. 
 
HB 2559 – Victims’ Rights; Courtroom Posting 
Chapter 243 (Vogt) 
The bill requires the victims’ rights statement contained in Arizona law to be posted in 
each justice of the peace and municipal court and read out loud by the judge at the daily 
commencement of the regular criminal docket. 
 
HB 2286 – Driver License Violations; Suspensions 
Chapter 252 (D. Smith) 
The bill allows a court to dismiss a charge of driving with a suspended license if the 
suspension is a result of a failure to pay a civil traffic violation and the person’s privilege 
to drive has been reinstated. 
 
HB 2556 – Criminal Restitution Order 
Chapter 269 (Vogt) 
The bill requires the trial court to retain jurisdiction of cases for the purpose of ordering 
and enforcing the method in which court ordered payments are made, and allows the 
superior court, at the time the defendant is ordered to pay restitution, to enter a criminal 
restitution order in favor of each person who is entitled to restitution for the unpaid 
balance of any restitution order.  It stipulates that a criminal restitution order must be 
recorded and enforced as any civil judgment, and that in a criminal case the court must 
enter both a criminal restitution order in favor of the state and in favor of each person 
entitled to restitution for unpaid balances of any criminal restitution order.  It requires 
that all monies paid as a result of a criminal restitution order be paid to the clerk of the 
superior court, and specifies that monies received as a result of a criminal restitution 
order must first be distributed to a restitution order that is reduced to a criminal 
restitution order and second to associated interest.  Interest is not applicable to fees 
imposed for collection of the court ordered payments.  The bill applies to all unpaid 
criminal restitution orders in effect on March 31, 2013, and does not affect any other 
monetary obligation, i.e., fines, fees or penalties, imposed on a defendant pursuant to 
law. 
 
The bill becomes effective March 31, 2013. 
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HB 2532 – Court-Ordered Treatment  
Chapter 334 (Ash) 
The bill updates and clarifies Arizona’s statues governing the evaluation of individuals 
ordered to undergo involuntary inpatient mental health treatment.  It outlines what 
should be in the petition for court-ordered treatment and requires the affidavit 
accompanying the petition to include any results of the physical examination that are 
relevant to the patient’s psychiatric condition.  It specifies that the annual review 
consists of the mental health treatment and clinical records contained in the patient’s 
treatment file and requires the director to conduct the annual review 90 days before the 
expiration of the court-ordered treatment.  If the medical director of the mental health 
treatment agency believes continued court-ordered treatment is appropriate, the director 
must appoint one or more psychiatrists to carry out a psychiatric examination of the 
patient rather than a qualified examiner.  Psychiatrists, in the psychiatric examination of 
the patient, must evaluate the patient’s history before and during the court-ordered 
treatment, the patient’s compliance with recommended treatment, and the patient’s 
willingness to follow treatment recommendations.  

The bill clarifies mental health powers for guardians, requires the director to file with the 
court an application for continued court-ordered treatment at least 30 days before the 
expiration of the court-ordered treatment if the director believes continued treatment is 
necessary, and specifies that the following procedures must be followed after an 
application for continued court-ordered treatment is filed: 
 If the patient does not have an attorney, the court must appoint one to represent 

the patient. 
 Within 10 days after appointment, the attorney must review the director’s report, 

interview the physician who prepared a report for the annual review, and either 
file a response requesting a hearing or request for the court to make a ruling 
without a hearing. 

 If a hearing is requested, the hearing must be held within three weeks after the 
request; if no hearing is requested, the court must rule on the application or set 
the matter for a hearing. 

 The patient’s attorney must be present at all hearings and may subpoena and 
cross-examine witnesses and present evidence. The patient may choose to be 
present after being informed of their right to be present;  if the patient is not 
present, the court must be given clear and convincing evidence that the patient is 
unable to be present. 

 The evidence presented by the applicant must include the testimony of one or 
more witnesses familiar with the patient during the court-ordered treatment and 
the testimony of any physician who performed an annual review, which may be 
satisfied by stipulating to the admission of the physician’s written report. The 
court may, however, waive the need for testimony if there is clear and convincing 
evidence that continued court-ordered treatment is necessary. 

 At a hearing, the court may impose additional powers on an existing guardian or 
terminate the court-ordered treatment if the court finds the treatment to be 
unnecessary. The court may also request an investigation into the need for 
guardianship or conservatorship and may appoint an appropriate investigator. 
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The investigator must then submit a report to the court within 21 days with 
recommendations as to who should be guardian or conservator and why. 

 
HB 2676 – Government Entities; Attorney Fees  
Chapter 339 (Kavanagh) 
The bill requires the court to award reasonable attorney fees to the successful party in 
any action filed against the state and other governmental entities by a governmental 
entity, agency, or political subdivision. 
 
SB 1369 – Crime Victim Advocates; Privileged Communications 
Chapter 153 (Shooter)  
The legislation prevents a crime victim advocate from disclosing any communication 
between the crime victim advocate and the victim or any communication made by or 
with the victim including when others are present, unless the victim provides written 
consent. The bill also removes the ability for a crime victim advocate to disclose 
information regarding compensation or restitution without the victim’s written consent. 
 
SB 1142 – Jurors; Arizona Lengthy Trial Fund 
Chapter 179 (Driggs) 
The bill allows a juror who serves more than five days to access the Arizona Lengthy 
Trial Fund (Fund) on the first day after the initial five days; current law allows a juror to 
access the Fund on the fourth day after the initial five days. Pursuant to A.R.S. § 21-
221, jurors are paid $12 for each day of attendance as well for mileage. If a juror serves 
on the jury for more than five days, however, they qualify to receive replacement or 
supplemental earnings from the Fund. The amount of replacement or supplemental 
earnings per juror range between $40 and $300 per day. The amount that a juror 
receives from the fund is limited to the difference between the $12 jury fee and the 
actual amount of earnings a juror earns, up to $300 but not less than $40 per day, 
minus any amount actually received by the juror’s employer. 
 
SB 1152 – Homeless Court; Establishment; Jurisdiction 
Chapter 180 (Driggs) 
The bill allows the presiding judge of the superior court in each county to establish a 
homeless court to adjudicate cases filed in a justice of the peace court or a municipal 
court in the county, and to establish the eligibility criteria for referral to the homeless 
court.  It allows a justice of the peace or municipal court judge who has jurisdiction over 
a case that meets the criteria to refer the case to homeless court, with the approval of 
the prosecutor, and requires the originating justice court to maintain jurisdiction of a 
case that is referred to homeless court.  It authorizes any judicial officer in the county 
where the offense occurred to adjudicate a case referred to the homeless court. 
 
This bill was included in the Maricopa County 2012 Legislative Package. 
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 Elections  
 
HB 2372 – Agricultural Improvement Districts; Voting 
Chapter 118 (Farnsworth) 
The bill makes clarifying changes to the requirements for land held by estate trusts to 
vote in agricultural improvement district elections by amending definitions and 
requirements. It specifies that the provisions of the bill will not become effective unless 
the shareholders of the Salt River Valley Water Users’ Association vote to approve the 
provisions in an election held on or before December 31, 2013, and requires the 
governing body of the Salt River Project to notify the director of the Arizona Legislative 
Council of the date when this condition is met. 
 
HB 2760 – Publicity Pamphlets; Bond Elections 
Chapter 129 (Olson) 
The bill modifies requirements related to school override and bond elections. It requires 
the Arizona Department of Revenue to provide the governing board of the school district 
and the county school superintendent with the current secondary assessed valuation of 
the school district and stipulates that this valuation must be used to determine an 
appropriate tax rate, and it outlines additional publication and notification requirements. 
 
HB 2377 – Incapacitated Persons; Voting Rights 
Chapter 223 (Farnsworth) 
The legislation amends the definition of “incapacitated person” to specify that a person 
under limited guardianship is not deemed incapacitated for voting purposes if the 
person files a petition, has a hearing and the judge determines by clear and convincing 
evidence that the person retains sufficient understanding of the right to vote. 
 
HB 2722 – Elections; Polling Places; Electioneering 
Chapter 275 (Farnsworth) 
The bill permits electioneering materials to be displayed within the 75-foot limit at polling 
places, and redefines “electioneering” to mean when an individual knowingly, 
intentionally, or by verbal expression demonstrates support for or opposition to a 
candidate who appears on the ballot in that election, a ballot question that appears on 
the ballot in that election or a political party with one or more candidates who appear on 
the ballot in that election in order to induce or compel another person to vote in a 
particular manner or to refrain from voting. 
 
The bill prohibits an election official, a representative of a political party who has been 
appointed by the county chairman of that political party or a challenger who is 
authorized by law to be within the 75-foot limit from electioneering and wearing, carrying 
or displaying materials that identify or express support for or opposition to a candidate, 
a political party or organization, a ballot question or any other political issue. 
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HB 2826 – Consolidated Election Dates; Political Subdivisions 
Chapter 353 (Ugenti) 
The legislation establishes consolidated election dates for political subdivisions (any 
governmental entity operating under the authority of this state and governed by an 
elected body, including a city, town, county, school district, community college district or 
any other district organized under state law, but not including a special tax district) to 
hold primary and general elections.  Beginning with elections held in 2014 and later, an 
election held for or on behalf of any political subdivision of this state, other than a 
special election to fill a vacancy or a recall election, may only be held on the following 
dates and only in even numbered years: 
 If the political subdivision holds a primary or first election and a general or runoff 

election is either required or optional for that political subdivision, the first election 
shall be held on the tenth Tuesday before the first Tuesday after the first Monday 
in November, whether the political subdivision designates the election a primary, 
first, preliminary election or any other descriptive term. 

 If the political subdivision holds a general election or a runoff election, the second 
election held must be held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in 
November. 

 If the political subdivision holds only a single election and no preliminary or 
primary or other election is ever held for the purpose of reducing the number of 
candidates, or receiving a partisan nomination or designation or for any other 
purpose for that political subdivision, the single election must be held on the first 
Tuesday after the first Monday in November. 

 
The bill specifies that, beginning with elections held in 2014 and later, non-candidate 
elections, elections held for or on behalf of any political subdivision of this state, and 
including a special election to fill a vacancy or a recall election are held on the following 
consolidated election dates: 
 The second Tuesday in March; 
 The third Tuesday in May; 
 The tenth Tuesday before the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November; 
 The first Tuesday after the First Monday in November. (Notwithstanding any 

other law, an election must be held on this date for the approval of an obligation 
or other authorization requiring or authorizing the assessment of secondary 
property taxes by a county, city, town, school district, community college or 
special taxing district, unless otherwise excepted by title 48.) 

 
A county election officer is permitted to use a unified ballot format in certain all-mail 
ballot elections. 
 
The bill contains a severability clause, and directs the 2013 legislature to propose 
legislation to conform Arizona statutes to the changes approved in this legislation. 
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HB 2033 – Public Electronic Posting; Government Bodies  
Chapter 361 (Yee) 
The bill makes numerous changes to procedures and responsibilities of the Arizona 
Secretary of State (SOS).  It expands the number of entities authorized to utilize the 
voter registration database to include any entity designated by the SOS as a voter 
registration agency, lessens the number of times per year that the county recorder is 
required to count the registered voters of its county to five times per year in even 
numbered years, and eliminates a requirement that the count occur before June 1 every 
year. 
 
The bill lengthens the timeframes, alters procedures and amends requirements for 
filings from a person seeking nomination as a candidate to the office of U.S. President.  
It changes notification for early voters when a candidate withdraws by providing a 
website address with updated information, restores language that allows a voter to be 
assisted by someone who has been employed by or volunteered for a candidate, 
campaign, political organization or political party in that election and that allows precinct 
committeemen to provide assistance to voters. 
 
It shortens the number of days in which a petition for recognition of a new political party 
must be filed with the required elections entities to 180 days before the primary election, 
removes requirements for county officers in charge of elections when they receive 
petitions for statewide recognition of a new political party.  It also modifies the timeframe 
by which a political organization is entitled to continued representation.   
 
The bill defines “political committee” and requirements associated with those 
committees.  It specifies that if the person vacating the office of U.S. Senator, state and 
county office that has a four-year term or legislative office changes political party 
affiliations after taking office, the person who is appointed to fill the vacancy must be of 
the same political party the vacating officeholder was at the time the officeholder was 
elected or appointed. 
 
It requires the state to pay counties 100% of costs incurred by a presidential preference 
election, and permits the court to award the county recorder the reasonable expenses 
incurred in signature verification in any challenge where the county recorder or officer in 
charge of elections is required to conduct signature verification, the county recorder or 
officer is a party; and the court determines that the challenge was without substantial 
justification or was primarily or solely for delay.  
 
The bill permits, rather than requires, triplicate copies of the poll list in precincts in which 
electronic poll book systems are not used and requires county and municipal campaign 
finance reporting information that is currently posted online to include the names of 
candidates who have filed an exemption statement pursuant to statute. 
 
The bill requires the SOS to develop electronic database systems for financial 
disclosures and lobbyist reporting required by statute, and specifies that the database 
must allow a county, city or town to elect to use the SOS’s system subject to the 



 
 

  11   
 

approval of the local governing body, if they conform their financial disclosure 
requirement and lobbyist disclosure requirement to the state standards. 
 
The bill states that the legislature intends to increase transparency in campaign finance 
compliance in a manner that improves access to information for members of the general 
public at different levels of local and county government, and to provide for improved 
voter education, and that this increase in access and transparency will result in a better 
informed and educated voting public. 
 
SB 1048 – Elections; Candidates 
Chapter 61 (Murphy) 
This legislation is an emergency measure that makes changes to the form and content 
of election ballots by requiring that the surnames of the presidential and vice-
presidential candidates be listed next to the names of the electors enclosed in a 
bracketed list.  The legislation also specifies criteria for the filing of nominating papers 
and petitions for legislative and congressional candidates for elections in 2012 by 
requiring the Arizona Secretary of State to accept nominating papers of a candidate and 
petitions signed by residents any or all of the following:  
 A legislative or congressional district as used in the 2010 elections;  
 A legislative or congressional district as designated in a redistricting plan adopted 

by the 2011 Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission; or  
 A legislative or congressional district as designated in a redistricting plan that is 

precleared for use in the 2012 election by the U.S. Department of Justice or that 
is ordered for use in the 2012 election by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

  
SB 1198 – Town Elections; Signature Requirements 
Chapter 145 (Yarbrough) 
The legislation makes multiple changes to the law governing the number of signatures 
required on nomination petitions. The bill modifies the number of signatures required on 
a nomination petition for an office of representative in Congress to at least one percent 
of the total voter registration of the party designated in the district. It also permits a town 
that chooses to hold nonpartisan elections to require that the minimum number of 
signatures be 1,000 or five percent of the vote in the town, whichever is less, but not 
more than 10 percent of the vote in the town, and allows a city that holds nonpartisan 
elections to require 250 signatures or five percent of the vote, for candidate nomination 
petition. 
   
SB 1230 – Ballot Appearance; General Election; Write-ins 
Chapter 148 (Griffin) 
The bill requires a candidate who appeared on the primary election ballot as a write-in 
candidate to comply with the provisions contained in the section of law governing the 
filing of nomination papers for write-in candidates. 
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 Environmental Services and Air Quality  
 
HB 2520 – Pesticide Buffer Zones; Health Care 
Chapter 101 (Farnsworth) 
The legislation clarifies that a health care institution must meet the requirements of 
A.R.S. §36-421 in order to trigger pesticide buffer zone restrictions, and requires a 
responsible individual at a child care group home to be notified of nearby application of 
pesticides. 
 
HB 2799 – Voluntary Environmental Stewardship Program 
Chapter 169 (Reeve) 
The legislation requires the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) to 
develop, implement and administer the Voluntary Environmental Stewardship Program 
(Program) to provide recognition and incentives for organizations that have a good 
history of environmental compliance.  It establishes a session law requirement that 
ADEQ conduct stakeholder meetings before developing policies, guidelines or rules for 
the Program, and specifies that the Program must include tiers based on an 
organization’s environmental impact and commitment to the Program. Membership in 
the Program is voluntary, but is limited to organizations that commit to a specified list of 
performance items. 
 
HB 2029 – Child Care; Day Camps; Exemption 
Chapter 218 (Kavanagh) 
The legislation exempts a facility that operates a day camp providing recreational 
programs from Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) licensing requirements if 
the following are true: 
 The day camp is accredited by a nationally recognized organization for day 

camps that is approved by ADHS; 
 It operates for less than 24 hours a day and less than 10 weeks each calendar 

year; 
 It posts a notice at the facility and on the camp’s website that the day camp is not 

licensed to be a child care facility; 
 It provides programs only to children who are at least five years of age; and 
 It requires all employees to have fingerprint cards. 

 
HB 2073 – Emissions Testing; Motorcycles; Extension 
Chapter 235E (JP Weiers) 
The bill modifies the conditional enactment data for motorcycle emission inspection 
exemptions from July 1, 2012 to July 1, 2014. Motorcycle emission testing in area A 
was exempted from vehicle testing in both 2008 and 2010. The exemption was based 
on the premise that the inspection of motorcycles in area A does not provide a 
significant air quality benefit. 
 
The bill became effective April 11, 2012. 
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HB 2199 – Environmental Audit Privilege 
Chapter 251 (Burges) 
The bill establishes an administrative and civil evidentiary privilege for environmental 
audits that are conducted by an organization or its independent contractor to determine 
compliance with environmental laws. It defines an “environmental law” as any federal, 
state or local law or regulation, as well as a permit issued by governmental entities that 
aims to protect the environment. 
 
HB 2798 – Air Quality; Dust Plan; Reports 
Chapter 308 (Reeve) 
The bill requires counties, cities and towns in Area A to submit an annual report on or 
before March 30 of each year regarding the following activities: 
 Paving of unpaved roads and shoulders; 
 Restrictions on leaf blower usage; 
 Restrictions on parking, maneuvering in ingress and egress areas and vacant 

lots; 
 Certification and the usage of street sweepers; and 
 Off-road vehicle ordinances and compliances. 
 

Counties are also required to report on no-burn restrictions for any high pollution 
advisory day, requirements for dust control training and site coordinators for permit 
required dust controlled locations, and requirements for dust control permit 
subcontractor registration. 
 
The Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) is required to submit an annual 
report on or before March 30 of each year regarding the following: 
 Restrictions or requirements in contracts or requests for proposals; 
 Bids or other construction and service activities overseen by ADOT; 
 County, city, and town ordinances or rules; 
 Requests or contracts of ADOT; and 
 Administration of other ADOT matters. 

 
The Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) is required to submit an 
annual report on or before March 30 of each year regarding the following activities on a 
form developed by the director of ADEQ: 
 Development and dissemination of air quality dust forecasts; 
 Restriction on leaf blower usage; 
 Production and distribution of printed materials to persons who sell or rent off-

highway vehicles, all-terrain vehicles, and off-road recreational motor vehicles; 
and 

 Dust action general permits which include best management practices for 
regulated activities before and during a day that forecasts high or moderate dust 
generation risk. 

 
The bill requires reports to contain a narrative description that identifies the employee or 
contractor who performs any inspection, enforcement, training, or other actions listed 
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and the scope and frequency of the activities, and requires the director of ADEQ to 
develop a form to be used for reports. 
 
The appropriate departments or agencies responsible for enforcing restrictions on off-
highway vehicles, all-terrain vehicles and off-road recreational motor vehicles during 
high pollution advisory days are required to submit an annual report on or before March 
30 of each year regarding those activities to ADEQ. 
 
SB 1220 – Child Care Facilities 
Chapter 147 (Crandall) 
The bill allows a facility providing only educational instruction to children who are 
between three and six years old to be exempt from child care facility licensing 
requirements when all of the following are true: 
 The facility instructs only in the core subjects of math, reading and science; 
 The facility does not accept state-subsidized tuition for the children; 
 A child is not present at the facility for more than two and a quarter hours a day 

and more than three days a week; 
 The instruction is not provided in a place of care ordinarily provided by a parent 

or guardian; 
 The facility posts a notice stating it is not licensed to be a child care facility;  
 The facility requires all employees to have fingerprint cards. 

 
SB 1287 – Aquifer Protection Permits; Waste 
Chapter 233 (Griffin) 
The bill specifies that waste rock piles are not considered to be “complex modification” 
and are exempt from regulations from expansion and individual permits, unless the 
facility is within an approved passive containment capture zone. The bill requires the 
relocated point of compliance to be permitted for the expansion of the pollutant 
management area.  It restricts a new or expanded waste rock pile to be considered to 
be a discharging facility and allows it to be categorized as a complex modification only if 
the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) determines that the new or 
expanded waste rock pile qualifies as a discharging facility and is not exempted, is 
located outside of a passive containment capture zone, requires the expansion of the 
pollutant management area, and a new or relocated point of compliance extends over a 
geologic unit of higher hydraulic conductivity than the original facility. It exempts any 
point source discharge caused by a storm event and authorized in an Arizona Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System Program to be required an aquifer protection permit. 
 
It exempts the following from the definition of “solid waste”: 
 The Voluntary Remediation Program approved by ADEQ in the course of 

remedial or corrective actions; 
 Mining industry off-road waste copper concentrate tires larger than three feet in 

outside diameter that are buried at a site; 
 Mining industry off-road waste tires larger than three feet outside diameter that 

are buried at the site and that are not maintained at the site of a mining or 
metallurgic operation located within 50 miles of the materials’ current off-site 
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location, or, on written approval of the director of ADEQ, located at a site that is 
farther than 50 miles of the materials’ current off site location, or that is regulated 
by an aquifer protection permit or approved by a Voluntary Remediation 
Program. 

 
SB 1237 – Wildfire; Notice of Violation; Pollutants 
Chapter 249 (Griffin) 
The bill allows the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) to issue a 
notice of violation to a federal agency as a potentially responsible party for the 
discharge of pollutants, if a federal agency designates an area of this state as under 
threat of catastrophic wildfire, a wildfire occurs that releases pollutants, and ADEQ 
reasonably determines that the discharge was due to a wildfire.  This does not apply on 
Native American lands owned or held by a federally-recognized Native American tribe, 
band, or community as reservation, allotment, sovereign, or propriety lands. 
 
SB 1289 – Storm Water Discharges; Construction Sites 
Chapter 262 (Griffin) 
The bill requires the Director of the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality 
(ADEQ), before June 1, 2013, to establish rules for exempting facility owners or 
operators that do not discharge from the storm water general permit requirements.  The 
general permit must be issued for storm water discharges from construction activity 
sites that eliminate the discharges from the site by retaining methods by rule-making 
procedures, except in the occurrence of an extreme event if all of the following 
conditions are met: 
 The nearest downstream receiving water is ephemeral; 
 The construction activity occurring on a site designated is such that all storm 

water generated by disturbed surfaces are directed into retention basins that are 
designated for runoff from an extreme event; and 

 Construction conforms to the standards of the Arizona Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (AZPDES). 
 

The bill prohibits ADEQ, a political subdivision, or the political subdivision’s personnel 
from requiring an owner or operator who is issued a permit by ADEQ or who qualifies 
for a storm water general permit coverage to obtain a permit or any local government 
equivalent permit for the same discharge, and prohibits the storm water general permit 
from expiring until the last day for filing for a review or until any later day that is fixed by 
the court order and allows continuous coverage to be obtained by new discharges until 
the proceedings have resulted in a final determination by the Director of ADEQ. 

A legislative intent clause states that with the evolution of AZPDES and storm water 
permits, construction activity has become subject to overlapping state and local 
regulation that must be modified by the ADEQ with review, development, and issuance 
of rules by July 1, 2017. 
 
 
 
 



 
 

  16   
 

SB 1297 – Agricultural Best Management Committee; Continuation 
Chapter 292 (Nelson) 
The bill continues the Agricultural Best Management Practices Advisory Committee for 
10 years, to be repealed on July 1, 2023.   
 
The bill is effective retroactively to July 1, 2012. 
 
SB 1438 – Drug Lab Remediation; Investigators 
Chapter 327 (Nelson) 
The legislation changes the legal recourse of a buyer of real property that was 
previously used as a drug lab, and creates criminal penalties for sellers who do not 
disclose to a buyer that the property had been used as a drug lab. The bill also allows 
cities, towns and counties to apply for funds to clean up and remediate property that 
had been used as a drug lab and place a lien on the property for reimbursement of the 
funds.  The State Board of Technical Registration, rather than the county health 
department, is required to maintain and make available public documents stating the 
residually contaminated portion of the real property has been completed.  
 
 
 Federal Issues  
 
HCM 2004 – Transportation Funding; Restore to States 
(R. Gray)  
The memorial urges the U.S. Congress to enact legislation that allows states to manage 
gas tax dollars without intervention from the federal government. The federal gas tax 
has been 18.4 cents per gallon since 1993 and generates more than $32 billion a year. 
The majority of the taxes is passed out to states for road construction and repair. About 
15 percent goes to other federal programs, like subsidizing public transportation or other 
efforts to discourage unsafe driving. The average American motorist pays about $100 a 
year in federal gas taxes. 
 
HCM 2007 – Federal Balanced Budget Amendment 
(Mesnard) 
The memorial urges the U.S. Congress to pass a constitutional amendment requiring a 
balanced budget to be sent to the states for ratification. The proposal requires the 
Secretary of State to transmit this memorial to the U.S. President, Speaker of the U.S. 
House of Representatives, each member of Arizona’s Congressional delegation and 
each state’s Secretary of State and presiding officer of both houses of the legislature. 
 
HCR 2004 – State Sovereignty 
(Crandell) 
If approved by voters in November 2012, the resolution will assert the rights of 
sovereignty over the land and resources of the state of Arizona by amending the 
Arizona Constitution to reflect such sentiments. On February 14, 1912, Arizona became 
the last territory of the continental United States to be admitted a state. Like many other 
western states, much of the federal lands were granted to Arizona as state trust land. 
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The federal government retains ownership of land within the boundaries of the state of 
Arizona, largely in the form of several national forests. The ballot measure adds a 
declaration of full sovereignty over lands and resources within the boundaries of Arizona 
as a new section to Article 2 of the Arizona Constitution, on the basis of maintaining 
“equal footing” with all other states. It also declares exclusive sovereignty over all the 
territories and resources of Arizona, except for Indian reservations and lands ceded to 
the U. S. through the clause of the U. S. Constitution which allows states to cede land to 
the federal government for the purposes of creating a seat of national government in the 
same manner as the District of Columbia. 
 
HCR 2034 – FEMA; Flood Map Review 
(Judd)  
The resolution requests the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to review 
Arizona’s flood plain maps, and states that the legislature supports the determination of 
flood insurance premiums on actuarial data from the state in which a person resides 
rather than on a national basis. 
 
FEMA is a part of the U. S. Department of Homeland Security. Its mission is to support 
citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, 
sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover 
from, and mitigate all hazards. FEMA provides flood insurance pursuant to the terms of 
the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 (42 U.S.C. §§ 4001-4129). Typically, 
communities across the nation participate in the National Flood Insurance Program, 
which contains flood insurance rates based on the type of building, the area where it 
was built, and elevation. FEMA produces two types of maps for rating flood insurance: 
the Flood Insurance Rate Map and the Flood Hazard Boundary Map. The resolution 
requires the Arizona Secretary of State to transmit a copy to the Administrator of FEMA. 
 
HCR 2061 – F-35 Training; Luke AFB; Support 
(Lesko) 
The resolution is intended to show the legislatures support of the F-35 training mission 
at Luke Air Force Base.  The Arizona Secretary of State is directed to transmit copies of 
the resolution to the U.S. Secretary of Defense, the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of 
Staff, the Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps, the Chief of Staff to the U.S. Air 
Force, the Chief of the National Guard Bureau and each member of Arizona’s 
Congressional delegation. 
 
HCR 2062 – F-35 Training; Arizona Facilities 
(JP Weiers) 
The resolution is intended to show the legislature’s support and pledge to continue to 
support the F-35 training missions at Luke Air Force Base, the Marine Corps Air Station 
Yuma and the Arizona Air National Guard's 162nd Fighter Wing. The Arizona Secretary 
of State is directed to transmit copies of this resolution to the U.S. Secretary of Defense, 
the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, the Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps, 
the Chief of Staff of the U.S. Air Force, the Chief of the National Guard Bureau and 
each member of Arizona’s Congressional delegation. 
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HM 2001 – Future Interstate; U.S. Highway 93 
(Tobin) 
The memorial urges the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation to 
designate U.S. Highway 93 from just outside Phoenix to Las Vegas, Nevada as a future 
interstate system route and as part of the proposed Interstate 11, and urges the 
Arizona’s Congressional delegation to propose this action. The Arizona Secretary of 
State is directed to transmit copies of this memorial to the Secretary of the U.S. 
Department of Transportation and Arizona’s Congressional delegation. 
 
SCM 1008 – Military Bases; Exemption from ESA 
(Griffin) 
The memorial urges the U. S. Congress to enact legislation that exempts United States 
military bases and training facilities from the regulations and restrictions of the 
Endangered Species Act.  The Arizona Secretary of State is directed to transmit copies 
of this memorial to the President of the U.S. Senate, the Speaker of the U.S. House of 
Representatives and each member of Arizona’s Congressional delegation. 
 
 
 General Government  
 
HB 2048 – County Officers 
Chapter 37 (Burges) 
The legislation eliminates the requirement that county officers file appointments of 
deputies and employees with the county recorder, repeals the requirement to keep a 
blotter, and clarifies the procedure involving recording nonconsensual liens. 
 
HB 2319 – Notice; Claim; Private Property Rights 
Chapter 110 (D. Smith)  
The legislation exempts claims made for just compensation pursuant to the Private 
Property Protection Act from the pre-suit requirements relating to actions against public 
entities.  
 
Generally, a person who has a claim against a public entity or a public employee must 
comply with pre-suit requirements before filing a suit against that entity or employee.  
For example, within 180 days after the cause of action accrues, the person must file the 
claim with the person authorized to accept service for the public entity or employee. The 
claim must contain sufficient facts as well as a specific amount. The bill alters current 
practice by exempting claims made under the Private Property Protection Act from the 
pre-suit requirements.  
 
HB 2020 – Honor and Remember Flag; Half-Staff 
Chapter 111 (Harper) 
The legislation requires the Honor and Remember flag to be displayed at the state 
capitol, the county superior court, and a city or town hall on days when the U. S. flag is 
flown at half-staff because of the death of a member of the armed forces.  It also 
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specifies that the Honor and Remember flag is to be placed below the POW/MIA flag 
when it is presented on a staff with the U.S. flag. 
 
HB 2272 – Clinical Trial; Public Information Requests 
Chapter 116E (Williams) 
The bill expands the list of items that are not subject to public records laws to include 
information or intellectual property that is composed of unpublished research data, 
manuscripts, preliminary analyses, drafts of scientific papers, plans for future research 
and prepublication peer reviews.  It adds information not available to the general public 
in addition to intellectual property that is included in the exemptions related to public 
records, and specifies that these public records exemptions do not affect the issues to 
be decided between a university and a contracting party including publication of data 
and discoveries. 
 
The bill became effective March 29, 2012.  
 
HB 2408 – Special Audit; Pima County 
Chapter 120 (Stevens) 
The session law requires the Arizona Auditor General to complete a special audit of the 
1997, 2004 and 2006 Pima County general obligation bond programs within six months 
after the bill becomes effective, and outlines what the report must include. 
 
HB 2446 – Liquid Petroleum Gas; Emergency Aid 
Chapter 121 (Gowan) 
The bill removes liability from a person with knowledge of liquefied petroleum gas that is 
providing assistance in an accident or other emergency situation.   A person who 
causes the accident or emergency situation or whose willful, wanton or grossly 
negligent act or omission in response to the accident or emergency situation causes 
damage is still subject to liability. 
 
HB 2561 – Building Code; Exception 
Chapter 123 (Vogt) 
The bill provides a narrow exemption for a building owned by a public school district 
from local building codes in Pima County.  It clarifies that buildings must still comply with 
the fire code design and permitting process, as well as fees required of the fire code in 
effect, and outlines additional requirements that must be followed in order to ensure 
compliance with applicable codes. 
 
HB 2621 – Local Government Budgets; Posting; Contents 
Chapter 126 (Lesko) 
The bill provides various requirements for the posting of an adopted budget of 
community college districts, counties, cities, towns and fire districts.  It clarifies that the 
annual estimate of expenses of each county, city and town must include an estimate of 
the amount of money required for each item of expenditure, which must include, by 
fund, the estimated number of full-time employees and the total estimated personnel 
compensation.  Personnel estimates must include employee salaries and employee-
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related expenses for retirement costs and health care costs.  The bill also directs the 
governing body of each county, city, town, community college district and school district 
to fix and asses the amount to be raised from primary and secondary property taxation 
by adding restricted and unrestricted unencumbered balances from the preceding fiscal 
year to equal the total amount proposed to be spent in the budget for the current fiscal 
year.   
 
The bill stipulates that the provisions are effective beginning in fiscal year 2013-2014. 
 
HB 2712 – Computer Access for Minors 
Chapter 166 (Court) 
The bill modifies definitions and rules governing the access of minors to harmful 
material on public access computers.  It outlines steps that public libraries that provide 
public access computers must take to protect minors from visual depictions that are 
child pornography, harmful to minors or obscene.  The governing body that operates a 
public library must develop a policy for the library to implement these new rules and 
adopt the policy in an open meeting; the policy is required to be reviewed by the 
governing body at least every three years.  The bill requires the policy to: 
 State that it restricts access to internet or online sites that contain child 

pornography, material harmful to minors or obscene material; 
 State how the library intends to meet the requirements of this law; 
 Require the public library to inform patrons that administrative procedures and 

guidelines for the staff to follow in enforcing the rules that have been adopted 
and are available for review at the library; 

 Require the public library to inform patrons that procedures for use by patrons 
and staff to handle complaints about the rule, its enforcement or about observed 
patron behavior have been adopted and are available for review at the library. 

 
The bill grants the governing body the option to direct the appropriate agency to 
withhold up to 10% of the monthly apportionment of public monies that would otherwise 
be due to the public library, if the governing body determines that the public library has 
failed to comply with this legislation within 60 days after the notice has been issued, but 
requires the governing body to restore the full amount of that funding when the public 
library comes into compliance with the new law. 
 
HB 2438 – Government Land; Private Land; Study 
Chapter 176 (Gowan) 
The legislation establishes the Joint Legislative Study Committee on Government and 
Private Lands, and requires the Arizona Department of Revenue (ADOR) to contract 
with each county assessor to conduct a property status study. It also reverts $132,213 
from the FY 2008 appropriation to the Arizona Department of Water Resources for the 
Upper San Pedro Water District Technical Assistance line item to the state General 
Fund and appropriates $132,213 from the state General Fund to ADOR. 
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HB 2122 – Powers; Board of Supervisors 
Chapter 199 (Burges) 
The legislation grants a county board of supervisors the ability to contract with a 
government agency to provide constable services at fees less than those established in 
statute, except for the services specifically authorized by law to be performed by the 
county sheriff. 
 
The bill also allows a county to adopt a countywide residential rental property inspection 
program under the following conditions: 
 The program is adopted at a regularly scheduled board of supervisors meeting 

that occurs at least 30 days after a public hearing by at least a majority vote of 
the entire board. 

 The county notifies all residential rental property owners who are currently 
registered with the county assessor by mail at least 20 days before the required 
public hearing. The notice must additionally be printed in a newspaper of general 
circulation not less than two weeks before the public hearing. 
 

The bill specifically prohibits a county from adopting a residential rental licensing 
requirement. 
 
HB 2417 – Written Communication; Electronic Delivery; Definition 
Chapter 224 (Stevens) 
The legislation allows a secure electronic delivery service to be used to fulfill any law 
that requires an entity, a government agency, a government official or any person acting 
with official government authority to communicate with a person in writing or by mail.  
“Secure electronic delivery service” is defined.  The bill does not apply to ballots, 
sample ballots, publicity pamphlets or other similar governmental communication 
regarding an election. 
 
HB 2830 – Energy & Water Savings Account 
Chapter 230 (Reeve) 
The bill outlines the guidelines for a city, town, county or school district to establish an 
energy and water savings account and the manner in which the funds are allowed to be 
used.  It allows a county board of supervisors to establish an account consisting of 
capital investment monies to fund energy or water savings projects. Monies deposited in 
the account are to be used to pay for incremental costs of energy or water savings 
measures in facilities owned by the county.  The account can be used for projects or 
measures that save energy or water in facilities owned by the county or payment of 
principal, interest, related finance costs and prepayment premiums.   
 
Before the implementation of the energy or water saving measures or services, the 
qualified provider, trustee or paying agent and the county must review and approve the 
estimated amount of energy or water savings and the impact on associated costs.  Both 
parties must jointly develop a schedule for repayment of investment monies that must 
result in lower energy or water costs. The repayment schedule must be included in the 
contract, and cannot exceed a 15-year term.  (This was expanded to a 25-year term in 
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HB 2578.) The bill establishes additional standards for the operation and payment of an 
energy and water savings account. 
 
HB 2070 – License Eligibility; Authorized Presence 
Chapter 234 (Kavanagh) 
The bill allows any license issued by the federal government, any other state 
government, an agency of this state or a political subdivision of this state that requires 
proof of citizenship or lawful alien status before it was issued is an acceptable form of 
identification for receiving an Arizona license. 
 
HB 2389 – Lease of County Property; Requirements 
Chapter 254 (Pratt) 
The bill states that the appointment of an appraiser is not required for the lease of any 
land or building valued at less than $5,000 if the valuation has been estimated and 
justified by a market analysis based on comparable sales. 
 
HB 2578 – School Facilities Board; Revisions 
Chapter 306 (Goodale) 
The legislation makes various technical and updating changes to the statutes related to 
the School Facilities Board.  
 
Additionally, it expands the scope and use of energy and water savings accounts and 
guaranteed energy cost savings contracts by making changes to the provisions enacted 
in HB 2830.  It allows entities to enter into a guaranteed energy cost savings contract 
with a qualified provider if the energy savings project pays for itself within the shortest of 
the expected life of the energy cost savings measures implemented, the term of the 
financial agreement or 25 years, rather than a maximum of 15 years.   
 
HB 2263 – Methamphetamine Precursor Logging System  
Chapter 330 (Carter) 
The bill regulates the sale and purchase of ephedrine and pseudoephedrine-based 
products, and requires the retailer to electronically submit certain information related to 
the sale to a national database.  It also states that the reporting of drug product sales is 
of statewide concern, and prohibits further regulation of sales by a county, city, town or 
other political subdivision. 
 
HB 2606 – Liquor Omnibus 
Chapter 336 (Mesnard) 
The legislation makes numerous changes to the Arizona Department of Liquor Licenses 
and Control (Department) and the related industry.  It adds community colleges and the 
National Guard to the list of government licenses issued and authorized to sell and 
serve liquor at specified places, amends posting requirements for a person seeking a 
liquor license, and allows the director of the Department to cancel a hearing on a liquor 
license application if a municipality or county recommends approval or makes no 
recommendation on the application. 
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It allows a peace officer, while undercover on assignment, to consume small amounts of 
spirituous liquor while still possessing a firearm. 
 
It simplifies and describes the process for obtaining an interim permit, and prohibits a 
city or town from increasing fees for hospitality businesses in any year by an amount 
greater than the increase in the average of the last five years’ consumer price index. 
 
HB 2744 – Regulatory Rules; Amendments 
Chapter 352 (Reeve) 
The bill modifies statutes that govern state regulatory rulemaking.  It allows an agency 
to make an expedited rulemaking under specified conditions if it does not increase the 
cost of regulatory compliance, does not increase a fee or reduce procedural rights of 
persons regulated, and outlines procedures to be followed when seeking an expedited 
rulemaking or attempting to end an expedited rulemaking that was already initiated.  
The agency cannot submit an expedited rule to the Governor’s Regulatory Review 
Council (GRRC) that is substantially different from the proposed rule contained in a 
notice; criteria needed for GRRC to approve a rule are outlined in the bill. 
 
It establishes new standards and procedures for GRRC to follow when reviewing a 
proposed rule, allows a person to request a clarification of an agency’s interpretation or 
application of its authority in writing, and establishes procedures for an agency to meet 
with the person filing a question. 
 
The legislation outlines procedures an agency must follow before establishing or 
increasing a fee and timelines for public comment on proposed fees, and establishes 
requirements for utilization of scientific principles in state agency decision-making. 
 
Rules that are made under a statutory exemption from GRRC procedures must be 
included in a five-year review by each agency; procedures and requirements for the 
five-year review are outlined. 
 
Agencies are required to post existing rules and substantive policy statements on their 
websites, and the Arizona Secretary of State is required to include specified information 
on proposed and final expedited rules on the state Register. 
 
HB 2549 – Electronic; Digital Devices; Stalking; Threatening  
Chapter 359 (Vogt) 
The bill updates current statute to outlaw any misuse of electronic or digital devices to 
terrify, intimidate, threaten, or harass in the course of conduct of stalking, but allows an 
exception for constitutionally protected speech and activity or any other activity 
authorized by law.  It also exempts activity authorized by a person, a person’s 
authorized representative, or the minor’s parent or guardian if the person is a minor, 
from the course of conduct defined in the stalking statute.  “Electronic communication” is 
defined as a wire line, cable, wireless or cellular telephone call, a text message, an 
instant message or electronic mail. 
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SB 1171 – Arizona Geological Survey; Powers; Duties 
Chapter 17 (Nelson) 
The legislation makes technical and conforming changes to transfer the Department of 
Mines and Mineral Resources to the Arizona Geological Survey, and requires the 
Arizona Geological Survey to prepare data files and maps showing earth fissures and 
their impact on counties, municipalities and existing infrastructure. 
 
SB 1225 – Superior Court Clerk; Arbitration; Records 
Chapter 44 (Gould)  
The legislation modifies the manner in which an appellant’s deposit for appeal is 
disposed of or refunded. After the arbitration award is signed by the arbitrator, it is filed 
with the clerk of the court; the non-prevailing party has 20 calendar days to file an 
appeal.  As a condition of filing to appeal, the appellant must a deposit an amount equal 
to the total compensation of the arbitrators, but not exceeding 10% of the amount in 
controversy.   
 
The bill specifies the following timeframes in which the court is required to refund or 
dispose of the appeal deposit: 
 If the appeal result is at least 23% more favorable than the relief granted by the 

arbitration award, then the appellant has 30 days to motion the court to refund 
the deposit to the appellant; 

 If the appeal result is not at least 23% more favorable than the relief granted by 
the arbitration, then the court, on its own motion or on motion of the appellee has 
30 days to motion the court to use the deposit to pay specified costs and fees. 

 
The bill also directs the clerk of the court to transfer the deposit to the county general 
fund, if the court does not provide an order for the disposition of the deposit in the 
following amount: 
 In an amount not to exceed the deposit but sufficient to reimburse the county for 

the compensation actually paid to the arbitrator; and 
 Any remaining balance to the appellant. 

 
SB 1135 – Government Deposits 
Chapter 64 (McComish) 
The bill authorizes the investment of government monies into federally insured savings 
deposit accounts. 
 
SB 1210 – Right of Intervention; Initiative; Referendum 
Chapter 84 (Biggs) 
The bill grants specified individuals an unconditional right to intervene in any proceeding 
in which the constitutionality, legality or application of a law enacted through initiative or 
referendum is at issue.  It asserts that the only objection that can be raised through this 
intervention is that the proposed intervenor does not have a good faith intention to 
defend the law and allows any party or proposed intervenor to raise this objection.  A 
party who intervenes to defend a law is not liable for attorney fees or costs of any party 
who is challenging the law. 
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SB 1075 – State Forester; Wildfire Resource Deployment 
Chapter 135 (Allen) 
The bill requires the state forester to develop and implement a comprehensive wildfire 
deployment plan of statewide resources for wildfire suppression activities and to ensure 
training and certification for wildland firefighters, apparatus and equipment. (The state 
forester, through intergovernmental agreements, provides coordination for seven state 
agencies with 190 local fire departments.) 
 
SB 1241 – Forfeiture of Weapons and Explosives 
Chapter 173 (Murphy) 
The bill prohibits local jurisdictions from establishing laws pertaining to sale of forfeited 
deadly weapons, dangerous instruments, or explosives.  It requires a court to order the 
sale of a firearm to a business authorized to receive and dispose of firearms under 
federal and state law for public resale, unless the firearm is prohibited from being sold 
under federal and state law, and allows a law enforcement agency to trade a retained 
firearm to a federal firearms licensed business for ammunition, weapons, equipment, 
and other materials to be used for law enforcement purposes.  It establishes a time 
period of one year in which the court must order the sale of a forfeited deadly weapon, 
dangerous instrument, or explosive to an authorized business after its forfeiture. 
 
SB 1136 – Fingerprinting; Central Registry; Background Checks 
Chapter 188 (Gray) 
The bill requires the Department of Economic Security (DES) to conduct central registry 
background checks on individuals who provide direct services to children or vulnerable 
adults. A.R.S. § 8-804 limits the use of the Central Registry to several specified 
purposes. In addition to other statutory uses, DES must use the Central Registry as one 
factor in determining the qualifications of persons who are applying to become licensed, 
certified or registered child caregivers, for positions that provide direct services to 
children or vulnerable adults and for contracts, including employees potential 
contractors for employment with this state in positions that provide direct services to 
children or vulnerable adults. The proposal requires DES to conduct Central Registry 
background checks and the information must be used only to determine: 
 Certification for individuals who provide direct services to vulnerable adults; 
 Qualifications for persons who are employed or who apply for employment with 

this state in positions that provide direct services to children or vulnerable adults; 
 Qualifications for positions that provide direct service to children or vulnerable 

adults. 
 
SB 1001 – Military Preservation; Land Exchanges  
Chapter 278 (Nelson) 
The bill modifies the process for review, evaluation and approval of proposed land 
exchanges of state trust lands for other public lands.  It requires at least two 
independent analyses to be done to determine specified criteria prior to any land 
exchange, and requires the Military Affairs Commission and each military facility to 
receive notice of a proposed land exchange.  Each proposed exchange must be 
approved by a majority of Arizona voters. 
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The bill will become effective if voters approve SCR 1001 in the November 2012 
election. 
 
SB 1193 – Proposed Rules; Acceptable Data 
Chapter 322 (Griffin)  
The legislation makes multiple changes to the sections of law governing judicial review 
of administrative decisions and requires additional data in economic, small business 
and consumer impact statements.  
 
The bill requires that in order to commence a review of a final administrative decision, 
the party must file a notice of appeal, rather than a complaint, and requires that it 
identify the final administrative decision sought to be reviewed and include a specified 
statement of issues presented for review.  It deletes the provision that required the 
complaint to clearly specify the grounds upon which review is sought and whether a 
transcript is to be designated as part of the record; now the notice of appeal is required 
to contain a statement of the findings and decision (in whole or part) sought to be 
reviewed.  The appellee is no longer required to file an answer. 
  
It modifies the court fee schedule to reflect the new filing requirements for notice of 
appeal and notice of appearance, and specifies that if the administrative hearing is held 
before the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH), the OAH is not a party of record. It 
prohibits specific actions, unless otherwise required by law or court order.  It also 
amends the applicable court rules that apply to all agency appellate proceedings to be 
governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure, except in cases in which the superior court 
has conducted a trial de novo.  The trial court, in trial de novo, must apply the Rules of 
Civil Procedure. 
 
It amends the section of law governing the regulatory bill of rights to include the right to 
comment or testify on proposed rules to an agency concerning the information 
contained in the economic, small business and consumer impact statement, and to 
allow a person to appeal a final administrative decision by filing a notice of appeal. 
 
Before submitting an application for a license, the person may request from the issuing 
agency a clarification of its interpretation or application of a statute, rule, delegation 
agreement or substantive policy statement affecting the person’s preparation of the 
license application and delineates what the written request should contain.  It delineates 
what the agency must do upon receipt of a request for clarification, specifies that an 
agency’s written clarification does not constitute an appealable action or an action 
against the party as pursuant to statute, and exempts the Arizona Peace Officer 
Standards and Training Board from the section of law governing an agency’s 
clarification of interpretation requirements. 
 
It requires the economic, small business and consumer impact statement for rule 
making to additionally include acceptable data (defined to be empirical, replicable and 
testable data supported in documentation, statistics, reports or research) as follows: 
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 A description of data on which the rule is based; 
 How the data was obtained; and  
 Why it is acceptable. 

 
The agency has the burden of proving the acceptability of the data. 
 
Sections of the bill impacting court fees, judicial review of administrative decisions and 
the regulatory bill of rights are effective June 30, 2013. 
 
SCR 1001 – Military Preservation; Land Exchanges 
(Nelson) 
The referral asks the voters to approve an amendment to the Arizona Constitution that 
authorizes the Legislature to enact a process to exchange trust land if the exchange is 
related to either protecting military installations or managing lands.  It prescribes the 
process and procedures that would apply to the exchange, requires any exchange to 
have public hearings, independent analyses and be approved by an affirmative vote of 
the people. 
 
SB 1001 will become effective if voters approve SCR 1001. 
 
 
 Human Resources  
 
HB 2248 – Employer Reporting Requirements; New Employees 
Chapter 49 (Ash) 
The bill requires employers to submit a report to the Arizona Department of Economic 
Security containing the date the newly hired, rehired or returning employee first 
performed services for pay. 
 
HB 2150 – Unemployment Insurance; Independent Contractor; Appeals 
Chapter 115 (Forese) 
The bill makes numerous changes to definitions and deadlines related to unemployment 
insurance benefit appeals.  It expands the definition of “employee” to stipulate 
indications of control by the employing unit, and extends the amount of time an 
interested party may file a petition for review after a decision is made by an Appeal 
Tribunal and after a determination becomes final regarding an employing unit.  It further 
outlines delivery requirements for determinations, and extends the amount of time an 
employer may appeal a refusal to revise a determination. 
 
HB 2155 – Controlled Substances; Workers’ Compensation 
Chapter 156 (McLain) 
The bill allows independent medical examiners to access the Arizona State Board of 
Pharmacy’s Controlled Substances Database and permits them to disclose any data 
found to the employee, employer, insurance carrier and the Industrial Commission.  An 
independent medical examination occurs when a doctor, physical therapist, or 
chiropractor who has not previously been involved in a person’s care examines an 
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individual.  They may conduct an examination to determine the cause, extent and 
medical treatment of a work-related or other injury where liability is at issue, whether an 
individual has reached maximum benefit from treatment, and whether any permanent 
impairment remains after the treatment. 
 
HB 2165 – Veterans; Employment Preference 
Chapter 157 (Carter) 
The bill requires political subdivisions of Arizona to give preference to veterans that are 
eligible for non-regular service retirement pay, or who would be eligible for non-regular 
service retirement pay but for age. 
 
HB 2519 – Unemployment Insurance; Omnibus 
Chapter 162 (Fann) 
The legislation makes changes to unemployment insurance (UI) regulations regarding 
payment of wages for discharged employees, the job training employer tax, work search 
requirements for UI recipients, and benefit eligibility for charter school employees. It 
changes the requirement in current statute for a final check to be provided to a 
terminated employee by the end of the next regular pay period instead of the current 
three day requirement.  It also stipulates that when the federal unemployment tax rate is 
above 6% prior to the credits an Arizona employer receives, the job training tax does 
not apply to the following employer groups: 
 Employers with a positive reserve ratio of at least 13%; 
 Employers with a positive reserve ratio of at least 12%; 
 Employers with the start-up rate of 2% pursuant to A.R.S. §23-729, or 2.7% 

pursuant to A.R.S. §23-730. 
 
HB 2753 – Notice; Claim; Public Entity; Employee 
Chapter 215 (Brophy McGee) 
If a genuine issue of material fact exists as to whether the pre-litigation requirements of 
a claim against a public entity have been complied with, the bill requires the issue to be 
resolved before a trial on the merits and at the earliest possible time. 
 
HB 2601 – Wage Claims; Filing 
Chapter 227 (Mesnard) 
The legislation increases the maximum amount of unpaid wages that enables an 
employee to file a written claim with the Industrial Commission of Arizona from $2,500 
to $5,000. 
 
HB 2368 – Workers’ Comp; Omnibus 
Chapter 240 (Fann) 
The bill establishes guidelines and regulations in relation to subrogation as applied to 
workers’ compensation cases, and changes current calculation from no later than 
January 1, 2010 to August 1st of each calendar year based on the Bureau of Labor 
Statistics. It specifies that in circumstances when an employee who is entitled to 
compensation is injured, killed or further aggravates a previously accepted industrial 
injury, the lien shall only apply to the amount expended for compensation and treatment 
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of the aggravation.  It removes the Arizona mean wage as a resource used to adopt 
compensation that reflects the annual percentage of the prior year, and revises the 
Bureau of Labor Statistics’ occupational employment statistics data coded for all 
occupations to the Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Cost Index (Index).  The 
Index must be used when adopting amounts that adjust the amount from the prior year 
to reflect the annual percentage, and the Industrial Commission of Arizona must 
develop and implement a process no later than December 31, 2014 for the use of 
evidence-based medical treatment guidelines, where appropriate, to treat injured 
workers. 
 
HB 2643 – Duty Related Injury; Police Officer 
Chapter 287 (Kavanagh) 
The bill establishes a supplemental benefit plan (SBP) for public safety employees who 
are injured while on duty, and requires the state and its political subdivisions to design 
an SBP that allows employees to receive approximately their identical base salaries.   It 
stipulates that the SBP must be designed so that, with the addition of other benefits 
being paid to the employees, the employees will receive approximately their identical 
base salary that was received prior to the injury.  Once an employee is accepted into 
the SBP, the employer must pay the employee contribution to PSPRS or CORP, and 
continue to pay the employer contribution to the respective retirement system or plan.  
The employee accrues credited service for the period of time they are enrolled in the 
SBP. 
 
It requires the state or a subdivision of the state to determine, on an individual basis, if 
an employee is entitled to benefits in the plan, and may include the exclusion of an 
employee whose injury is a result of gross negligence or any other condition the state or 
political subdivision chooses to consider within the plan. 
 
SB 1016 – Workers’ Compensation 
Chapter 12 (McComish) 
The legislation permits employees receiving workers’ compensation benefits to request 
electronic transfers, and removes existing language that prohibits marketing 
representatives of the State Compensation Fund from being licensed to sell any type of 
insurance other than workers’ compensation insurance. 
 
 
 Law Enforcement  
 
HB 2130 – Disease Testing; Public Safety Employees  
Chapter 25 (J. Pierce) 
The bill expands existing statute to allow a public safety employee, volunteer, or an 
employing agency to petition the court to have a person tested for specified diseases if 
there is probable cause to believe that the person bit, scratched, spat or transferred 
blood or other bodily fluid to a public safety employee or volunteer who was performing 
an official duty. 
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HB 2215 – Probation Officers; Witness; Representation 
Chapter 201 (Proud) 
The bill allows a probation officer who is designated as a witness by the employer in 
another officer’s misconduct investigation to have a representative present during the 
witness interview. The bill extends all related statutory requirements and responsibilities 
that currently pertain to law enforcement officers to include probation officers.   
 
HB 2550 – Victims’ Rights; Criminal Offense 
Chapter 268 (Vogt) 
The bill specifies that a peace officer can be considered a victim if the act that would 
otherwise have made the officer a victim occurs while the officer is acting in the scope 
of official duties.  Therefore, the peace officer may not be compelled to submit to an 
interview on certain matters. Article II, § 2.1 of the Arizona Constitution enumerates the 
Victims’ Bill of Rights. Among the rights enumerated, a victim has a right to refuse an 
interview, deposition, or other discovery request by the defendant, the defendant’s 
attorney, or other person acting on behalf of the defendant. The bill also modifies the 
definition of “criminal offense” for victim’s rights purposes to include a petty offense or a 
local criminal ordinance violation. 
 
HB 2723 – Law Enforcement Officer; Discipline; Information 
Chapter 276 (Farnsworth) 
The bill modifies the statute relating to disciplinary actions of law enforcement officers.  
It removes provisions that require parties in an appeal hearing to exchange copies of 
any documents that have not been previously disclosed and the names of all witnesses 
who may be called to testify no later than five business days before the appeal hearing. 
 
HB 2154 – Child Restraint Systems 
Chapter 314 (McLain) 
The legislation requires a child restraint system for passengers in a motor vehicle 
between the ages of five and eight who are not more than four feet nine inches tall, and 
assigns a $50 civil penalty, to be deposited in the Child Restraint Fund, for failure to 
follow the requirement.  A law enforcement officer who believes a vehicle is violating 
this section is required to determine from the driver the age and height of the child in the 
vehicle and to assess whether the child should be in a child restraint system.  The civil 
penalty is waived if the person demonstrates changes needed to comply with the law. 
 
SB 1185 – School Safety Program; Requirement 
Chapter 140 (Gray) 
The bill requires the School Safety Program Oversight Committee to add a requirement 
to the School Safety Program guidance manual that a dispute resolution process be 
included in the service agreement between a school district or charter school that 
received a School Safety Program grant and the law enforcement agency that services 
the school district or charter school. 
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SB 1197 – Law Enforcement; Overtime Compensation 
Chapter 144 (Yarbrough)  
The legislation allows a person engaged in law enforcement activities to forgo overtime 
compensation of a 40-hour work week if in agreement with the employer. If a person 
engaged in law enforcement activities has an agreement regarding an alternate work 
period and takes a new position with the employer, the person may terminate the 
existing agreement. 
 
SB 1186 – Law Enforcement Officers; Omnibus 
Chapter 355 (L. Gray) 
The legislation establishes new law regarding law enforcement officer fitness for duty 
examinations, and makes a variety of statutory changes relating to law enforcement 
officers.   
 
It states that an employer may only order an officer to submit to a physical examination 
if the officer has acted or failed to act in a way which indicates that there is a physical 
condition materially limiting the officer’s ability to perform any of the essential functions 
required by the officer’s job.  It requires the order to submit to a physical exam to 
include all of the objective facts on which the order is based except for the specific 
names of individuals who reported the officer’s conduct to the supervisor, specify the 
time, place, manner, conditions, and scope of the examination, including the person 
who will be conducting the examination, and to provide at least 10 days’ notice to the 
officer before the physical examination.  It allows the officer being examined to have a 
representative present during the examination if the physician conducting the 
examination agrees, and requires the employer to provide the officer with the final report 
of the examination containing the medical professional’s findings and allows the 
employer to also provide any additional information related to the fitness for duty 
examination to the examining physician.  The report must only be provided to the 
employer and the officer except as required for any subsequent appeal or certification 
action involving the officer. The employer must provide notice to the officer when the 
final report is received and must provide the report to the officer immediately if the 
officer presents the final report of an independent medical examination or waives any 
right to request an independent medical examination. If the officer does not present the 
final report of an independent medical examination within 20 days after the employer 
provides notice that the report has been received, the officer is deemed to have waived 
the right to present the results of an independent examination.  The employer must 
make a reasonable good faith effort to deliver the report to the officer.  The physician 
may only consider and report on the officer’s medical or other records that are directly 
relevant to the action in question when conducting the examination, and may also 
consider and report any condition of the officer that the physician identifies during the 
course of the physical examination that endangers the safety of the officer or the 
community.  The employer cannot take any final action until after the officer has had at 
least 20 days to review the final report unless the officer waives the 20-day period or the 
employer grants an extension. (These new laws do not prohibit preexamination 
materials from being used in proceedings relating to the disciplinary action of an officer 
or providing the preexamination materials to the person conducting the independent 
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examination of the officer does not change the disclosure requirements as outlined in 
statute.) 
 
The bill clarifies that the new provisions do not diminish any rights of an officer that exist 
under current law and do not preempt agreements that supplant, revise, or otherwise 
alter the provisions of the bill, including preexisting agreements between employers and 
officers or the officer’s lawful representative association. 
 
The legislation allows a petition for an order authorizing disease testing of another 
person to be submitted to a court if the person is arrested, charged, or in custody and 
the public safety employee or volunteer alleges, by affidavit, that the person interfered 
with the official duties of the public safety employee or volunteer by biting, scratching, 
spitting, or transferring blood or other bodily fluids on or through the skin or membranes 
of the employee or volunteer.   
 
It includes reserve peace officers, who are accident reconstructionists or fire origin and 
cause investigators in the exemption from the prohibition against the Arizona 
Department of Public Safety licensing peace officers and reserve peace officers as 
private investigators, and specifies that cities, towns, and counties with small 
populations must only enter into an interagency agreement to provide for an alternate 
hearing officer for disciplinary action appeals if necessary to comply with the 
requirement to provide an alternate hearing officer on a party’s first request.  An officer 
may bring action in a superior court for a hearing de novo regarding their termination if 
the finding of the civil service board or merit commission states there was no just cause 
for the termination, as opposed to the officer’s belief there was no just cause. 
 
It repeals a statute referring to the Arizona Law Enforcement Officer Advisory Council, 
which was replaced by the Arizona Peace Officer Standards and Training Board 
(AZPOST) by Laws 1994, Chapter 324, and modifies the definition of “peace officers” to 
include special agents from the attorney general’s office or a county attorney’s office 
who are certified by the AZPOST. 
 
SB 1212 – Law Enforcement Officers; Just Cause 
Chapter 356 (Biggs) 
The legislation expands the just cause appeals process for law enforcement officer 
terminations to include demotions.  It allows a law enforcement officer who was 
demoted by an employer due to the employer reversing a decision of a hearing officer, 
administrative law judge, or appeals board where the finding states that there was no 
just cause for the demotion to bring an action in superior court for a hearing de novo on 
the demotion.  It requires the hearing officer, administrative law judge, or appeals board 
to state in every finding of disciplinary action whether just cause existed for the 
disciplinary action and permits a law enforcement officer who was demoted by an 
employer where there is no hearing officer, administrative law judge, or appeals board 
to review the demotion to bring an action in superior court to review the agency’s file.  It 
entitles a demoted law enforcement officer to a hearing on the demotion if the court 
finds from a review of the file that there was not just cause for the demotion, stipulates 
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that if the superior court finds that just cause for the demotion did not exist, the court 
shall order the officer reinstated to the officer’s previous position with the law 
enforcement agency, and allows the superior court to award to the law enforcement 
officer monetary damages not to exceed the officer’s combined total of wages and 
benefits during the period of imposed disciplinary action that was lost as a result of the 
demotion. 
 
 
 Public Fiduciary  
 
HB 2560 – Adult Protective Services; Attorney Fees 
Chapter 163 (Vogt) 
The bill eliminates the award of certain attorney fees in a civil action related to 
vulnerable adult care but permits reasonable costs and attorney fees to be awarded in a 
civil action related to the financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult. 
 
SB 1141 – Public Fiduciaries; Investigatory Power 
Chapter 172 (Driggs) 
The bill permits county public fiduciaries to conduct an investigation if the persons 
responsible for the duty to bury or provide funeral and disposition arrangements for a 
decedent are not willing, financially able, or cannot be located. 
 
This bill was included in the Maricopa County 2012 Legislative Package. 
 
 
 Public Health  
 
HB 2370 – Death Certificates  
Chapter 60 (Carter) 
The legislation expands the types of health care providers who can sign a medical 
certificate of death, and specifies that the county medical or alternative medical 
examiner is entitled to all medical records and related records of a person for whom the 
medical examiner is required to certify cause of death.  If a person dies of natural 
causes in a hospital, nursing care institution or hospice inpatient facility, the hospital, 
nursing care institution or facility must designate a health care provider to complete and 
sign the medical certification of death within 72 hours. The bill also states that a health 
care provider who completes and signs a medical certification of death in good faith is 
not subject to civil liability or professional disciplinary action. 
 
This bill was included in the Maricopa County 2012 Legislative Package. 
 
HB 2063 – Community Health Centers; Walk-In Patients 
Chapter 90 (Brophy McGee) 
The bill specifies that the contract between the Arizona Department of Health Services 
and qualifying community health centers may allow urgent care services for walk-in 
patients. 
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HB 2800 – Public Funding; Family Planning; Prohibition 
Chapter 288 (Olson) 
The legislation specifies that the expenditure of public monies for family planning 
services must be distributed in the following order: 
 To health care facilities that are owned or operated by this state or any political 

subdivision of this state; 
 To hospitals and federally qualified health centers; 
 To rural health clinics; and 
 To health care providers whose primary area of practice is the provision of 

primary health services. 
 
It prohibits the state and its political subdivisions from entering into a contract with or 
making a grant to any person who performs non-federally qualified abortions or 
maintains a facility where non-federally qualified abortions are performed, and 
authorizes the attorney general or the county attorney to enforce this section and obtain 
relief in appropriate circumstances.  The bill permits an entity that is eligible for the 
receipt of public monies to bring an action to enforce this law through the attorney 
general or county attorney if the expenditure or grant of public monies has resulted in a 
reduction of public monies available to that entity.  Monies recouped as a result of legal 
action must revert to the fund in which the monies were appropriated or granted. 
 
 
 Public Works  
 
HB 2477 – Farm Implements; Vehicle Implement; Inspections 
Chapter 100 (Carter) 
The bill clarifies that animal husbandry implements and certain vehicles used solely in 
the operation of a farm are exempt from normal vehicle equipment requirements when 
they are incidentally operated or moved on a highway whether as a trailer or self-
propelled unit. 
 
HB 2061 – HELP Advisory Committee; Repeal 
Chapter 113 (Brophy McGee) 
The bill repeals the Highway Expansion and Extension Program (HELP) Advisory 
Committee.  The Committee was formed in 1998 to develop an application form for 
financial assistance for HELP, review requests of loans and financial assistance, make 
recommendations to the Arizona Board of Transportation, and submit an annual report 
to state leaders that includes financial and operational information on projects assisted 
by the HELP funds. 
 
HB 2673 – Overdimensional Loads 
Chapter 164 (Gray)  
The legislation makes various changes to the statutes governing overdimensional and 
overweight loads and escort vehicles. The bill prohibits the director of the Arizona 
Department of Transportation from requiring the operator to apply for a new permit or 
pay an additional fee if the actual vehicle and load to be moved are subsequently of a 
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lesser dimension or weight than that described on the permit.  It also specifies that an 
operator has to comply with all other provisions of the permit if another permit or fee is 
not required because the vehicle and load end up being smaller in dimensions or lighter 
in weight. The bill requires escort vehicle permittees to complete training in best 
practices in traffic control techniques on the road and deletes specific language 
requiring the escort vehicle operator to have a minimum of four hours of training in 
certified traffic control technique for training and certification requirements.  
 
HB 2350 – Cities; Counties; Regulations 
Chapter 205 (Reeve) 
The bill requires a city, town or county to annually post on its website a capital 
improvement plan containing all public works projects scheduled to be constructed, and 
allows a utility to request that the city, town or county annually provide a copy of the 
local government’s capital improvement plan and provide notice of any new projects not 
included in the plan or changes that advance the start date of any projects already in 
the plan.  It directs the utility to designate the utility representative to receive the 
municipal or county information.  It amends existing statute to specify that an applicant 
for a license, rather than any person, may request a clarification of interpretation of a 
statute. 
 
HB 2491 – Module Mover Vehicles 
Chapter 210 (Jones) 
The bill makes numerous changes to the statutes relating to public-private partnerships 
in transportation, and provides for the administration and enforcement of toll roads in 
Arizona, as well as user due process. It allows the director of the Arizona Department of 
Transportation (ADOT) to enter into public-private partnerships with other jurisdictions to 
exchange motor vehicle record information for toll enforcement and for refusal, 
suspension or revocation of a driver license or vehicle registration for unpaid tolls and 
related penalties.  It includes toll facilities among the highways on which 
overdimensional vehicles and loads must have an ADOT permit for authorized travel, 
and requires ADOT to conduct at least one public hearing on user charges, tolls, fares 
and similar charges before procuring for public-private partnership services.  In addition, 
the bill allows the director of ADOT to extend the period of time that cotton module 
haulers are authorized to travel on the state’s highways.  
 
HB 2347 – Public Transportation Authorities; Board Membership 
Chapter 221 (Jones) 
The bill adds one member from a community college district and one member from a 
Native American nation to the board of directors of an intergovernmental public 
transportation authority. 
 
HB 2543 – Signs; Traffic Control; Outdoor Advertising 
Chapter 316 (Carter) 
The bill allows the director of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) to 
establish temporary procedures and criteria for making state highway signs for nonprofit 
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museums, and permits billboards that are capable of changing messages mechanically 
or electronically to be displayed along an interstate if the billboard: 
 Does not contain any animation and remains static for at least eight seconds with 

a transition time of no greater than two seconds; 
 Is located within prescribed statutory boundaries, creating an authorized area for 

electronic outdoor advertising (The director of ADOT must create a pictorial 
representation of these boundaries and post it online); 

 Meets standards for evening illumination (From sunset to 11:00 P.M. the dimmer 
for outdoor advertising signs, displays and devices must not be set to exceed 
342 nits in full white mode for signs that are smaller than 672 square feet in area 
and 300 nits in full white mode for signs that are equal to or larger than 672 
square feet in area); 

 Extinguishes illumination from 11:00 P.M. until sunrise (an exception is made for 
Amber Alerts and other governmental emergencies) and is equipped with an 
automatic device to ensure compliance; 

 Complies with additional statutory size and spacing limitations. 
 
ADOT must be notified and maintain records if an existing billboard within the 
authorized area is converted to electronic outdoor advertising. This notice must include 
a certification that the sign remains in statutory compliance.  An outdoor advertisement 
cannot be converted to electronic outdoor advertising outside the authorized area after 
May 9, 2012; electronic outdoor advertising previously in existence is grandfathered in if 
it meets specified criteria.  An existing outdoor advertising use cannot be converted to 
an outdoor advertising use capable of changing messages if the existing sign is located 
outside the authorized area. 
 
The bill allows a city, town or county to enforce or enact an ordinance regulating outdoor 
advertising as authorized by the bill, including the lighting of outdoor advertising, but 
prevents a local government from enacting an ordinance that is less restrictive than the 
provisions of the bill. 
 
SB 1281 – Public Roads; County Maintenance 
Chapter 18 (Griffin) 
The bill expands the number of roads and streets on which a county board of 
supervisors is permitted to spend public monies for maintenance.  Previously, counties 
were authorized to spend public monies on roads laid out, constructed and opened 
before June 13, 1975; the bill now allows funding to be used for all roads laid out, 
constructed and opened before June 13, 1990. 
 
SB 1131 – Transportation Project Advancement Notes 
Chapter 41 (Yarbrough) 
The bill establishes transportation project advancement notes, and allows counties, 
municipalities and regional public transportation authorities to enter into transportation 
project advance agreements and advance monies for the acceleration of certain 
transportation projects. The proposal allows political subdivisions to enter into 
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transportation project advance agreements (agreements) with, and to advance monies 
to, the following entities for the acceleration of certain transportation projects: 
 Arizona Department of Transportation; 
 Regional planning agencies; 
 Metropolitan planning organizations or councils of government; and 
 Designated grant recipients. 

 
These entities are authorized to enter into agreements with political subdivisions and 
with each other. 
 
SB 1124 – ADOT Contracts; Surplus Lines 
Chapter 137 (McComish) 
The bill stipulates that companies with surplus lines insurance coverage are eligible to 
bid on Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) contracts. Surplus Lines 
Insurance (SLI) is coverage that is not currently available from insurers licensed in this 
state and must be purchased from a non-admitted carrier. A consumer may need to 
purchase SLI if the consumer needs more unique insurance than what is available from 
admitted insurers for property and casualty coverage. The proposal specifies that, 
notwithstanding any rule or provision in the manual adopted by ADOT, any bidder 
complies with any bid plan or specification requiring insurance by obtaining insurance 
from an authorized insurer or from an approved SLI carrier. 
 
SB 1232 – Vehicle Permit Fees; Excess Weight 
Chapter 192 (Griffin) 
The bill modifies the distribution of special single trip excess weight permit fees for 
commercial vehicles traveling through an international port of entry.  The fee is $75 and 
is currently deposited in the State Highway Fund; the bill redistributes the $75 as 
follows: 
 50% to the State Highway Fund; 
 25% to counties located in the 25 mile commercial border zone identified on the 

permit; and 
 25% to cities and towns located in the 25-mile commercial border zone identified 

on the permit.  (This must be further allocated to the cities and towns located in 
the 25-mile commercial border zone identified on the permit based on 
population). 

 
SB 1402 – Broadband Conduit Installation; Right-of-way; ADOT 
Chapter 195 (Driggs) 
Designated as the “Digital Arizona Highway Act of 2012,” the legislation grants the 
director of the Arizona Department of Transportation authority to establish broadband 
conduit as part of a covered rural highway construction project if funding is provided to 
cover the costs. 
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SB 1216 – Emergency Vehicle Access Plan; ADOT 
Chapter 261 (Biggs) 
The bill requires the director of the Arizona Department of Transportation to include an 
emergency vehicle access plan for projects requiring a traffic management plan in state 
highway work zones. Federal law requires state and local governments that receive 
federal-aid highway funding to prepare traffic management plans for work zone safety 
and mobility. Traffic management plans are a set of coordinated transportation 
management strategies and procedures used by a state or local transportation agency 
to manage the work zone impacts of road projects within its jurisdiction. 
 
SB 1040 – County Highways; County Engineer Recommendations 
Chapter 285 (Gray) 
The legislation modifies the process for a county to establish, alter, or abandon a public 
road by allowing a county engineer to recommend that a highway be established or 
altered in the county upon the decision of the board of supervisors.  The board of 
supervisors must give at least 60 days written notice by certified mail to the owners of 
the land abutting the highway and have a majority of the owners of that land approve 
the decision to abandon or vacate a highway.  The board must set a date for a public 
hearing on the county engineer’s recommendation and give notice to the public that 
states the purpose of the hearing, date and directions.  This county engineer 
recommendation process cannot be used to abandon a road that was granted under 
U.S.C. 43 § 932. 
 
 
 Retirement  
 
HB 2283 – State Employee Benefits; Definition  
Chapter 40 (Reeve) 
The legislation clarifies that a statutory delay in Arizona State Retirement System 
benefits (enacted by Laws 2011, Chapter 277) applies only to judicial employees that 
are paid through the Arizona Department of Administration, and not to judicial 
employees funded by county governments.   
 
This bill was included in the Maricopa County 2012 Legislative Package. 
 
HB 2662 – ASRS: Employees; Election; Enrollment 
Chapter 273 (Robson) 
The bill permits state employees over the age of 65 who are not active, inactive or 
retired members of the Arizona State Retirement System (ASRS), or who have credited 
or prior service in ASRS, to opt-out of participation before July 1, 2015.  The employee 
must opt-out in writing within 30 days of employment, and the written notice serves as a 
waiver of all benefits provided by ASRS; the decision is irrevocable for the remainder of 
the employment.  The person cannot purchase service in ASRS for the period they 
make the election to opt-out.  ASRS is required to submit a report on the number of 
persons who opt-out of benefits by December 31, 2014.  
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HB 2264 – ASRS; Employee; Employer Contributions; Rate 
Chapter 304E (Robson) 
The bill returns Arizona State Retirement System (ASRS) contribution rates to require 
both employees and employers to pay 50% (Laws 2011, Chapter 26 altered the 
contribution rates to require 47% from employers and 53% from employees).  Employee 
contributions made in FY2012 that exceeded 50% are to be returned prior to September 
30, 2012.  Employees that forfeited their right to ASRS benefits or who received the 
value of the excess contributions from ASRS are exempt from the reimbursement.  The 
bill specifies that the refunded contributions are to be treated as taxable wages in 2012 
and be treated as a payment by the employer of previously taxed wages for long term 
disability contributions; the refunds are not to be treated as salary, wages or 
compensation for purposes of determining a future ASRS benefit. 
 
The bill assigns ASRS authority to adjust or rebalance any member’s account to take 
into consideration the change to the contribution rate, but exempts them from any 
liability over the implementation of the excess contributions.  It also contains an 
appropriation for state agencies to implement the reimbursements to their employees. 
 
The legislation became effective May 7, 2012, but is retroactive to July 1, 2011. 
 
HB 2409 – PSPRS; Pension Buyback Payments  
Chapter 348 (Stevens) 
The bill outlines service purchase payment guidelines for pension buybacks in the 
Public Safety Personnel Retirement System (PSPRS), the Corrections Officer 
Retirement Plan (CORP) and the Elected Officials Retirement Plan (EORP).  It requires 
members purchasing pension buybacks to make payments directly to the plan in whole 
or in part, continues to allow members to purchase pension buybacks using lump sum 
payments, allows members to choose installment payments over a period of time 
through an arrangement with the plan, and outlines the process of accepting a direct 
transfer of any eligible rollover distribution, or a contribution by a member of an eligible 
rollover distribution such as retirement programs and annuity contracts.  It also outlines 
limitations prescribed by the Internal Revenue Code, regarding rollover contributions 
and states that if the fund has a rate of return less than two percent, the officer only 
receives their contribution back.  If the fund realizes a rate of return that is greater than 
two percent, the officer receives the two percent upon retirement – anything above the 
two percent stays with the system.   
 
HB 2745 – PSPRS; Employer Contributions  
Chapter 362 (D. Smith) 
The bill prohibits a required alternate contribution rate for a retired member of the Public 
Safety and Personnel Retirement System who is required to participate in another state 
retirement system and the retired member returned to work before July 20, 2011, and 
makes various changes to the Arizona State Retirement System statutes relating to 
administration, member distributions, health benefits, investments, receivables and 
service purchase. 
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SB 1115 – PSPRS Investment Contracts 
Chapter 63 (Yarbrough) 
The legislation stipulates that loans, guarantees, investment management agreements 
and investment contracts made by the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System 
receive due diligence regarding federal immigration law and Arizona laws against 
investments in Sudan and Iran. 
 
SB 1194 – ASRS; Nonparticipatory Employer; Liabilities 
Chapter 79 (Yarbrough) 
The legislation directs the Arizona State Retirement System (ASRS) to allocate an 
employer liability that is no longer participating in ASRS. 
 
SB 1117 – ASRS; Administration 
Chapter 87 (Yarbrough) 
The legislation enhances the Arizona State Retirement System’s (ASRS) accounts 
receivables collection authority. It states that a debtor who fails to pay any monies owed 
to ASRS is liable for all costs and expenses incurred by ASRS to collect monies owed. 
It also states that after at least two separate attempts to collect, and at least 30 days 
from the date the debt was determined, ASRS may collect the debt and other sums that 
are sufficient to cover the expenses of the levy through: 
 Cash and cash equivalent property at financial institutions; 
 The accrued salary or wages of the debtor by serving notice of levy on the chief 

disbursing officer of the debtor’s employer. 
 
The bill also requires any person with possession of property subject to a levy to 
surrender the property on demand of ASRS, unless it is subject to a prior judicial 
attachment or execution and allows ASRS to enter into agreements with financial 
institutions to develop a data match system to assist with debt collection. 
 
SB 1119 – ASRS; Spousal Consent 
Chapter 88 (Yarbrough) 
The legislation requires a married member of the Arizona State Retirement System 
(ASRS) to name and maintain their current spouse as a beneficiary to receive at least 
50% of the member’s account, and allows the member’s current spouse to consent to a 
waiver of this requirement. The bill allows a member’s current spouse to consent to one 
of the following requirements by submitting an acknowledgement to ASRS: 
 A change of beneficiary that provides the member’s current spouse with less 

than 50% of the member’s account balance; 
 The member’s retirement application that does not name the member’s current 

spouse as a recipient of a joint and survivor annuity; 
 A change or rescission of the member’s current spouse’s contingent annuitant 

status. 
 
It also states that if a member’s current spouse is not capable of executing the 
acknowledgement of the requirements due to an incapacitating mental or physical 
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condition, a power of attorney or guardian may execute the acknowledgment on the 
current spouse’s behalf. 
 
Specified provisions of the bill are effective June 30, 2013 and July 1, 2013. 
 
SB 1116 – PSPRS; CORP; EORP Amendments 
Chapter 139 (Yarbrough) 
The legislation provides administrative and clarifying changes for the Public Safety 
Personnel Retirement System, Elected Official Retirement Plan, and the Correctional 
Officer Retirement Plan, as well as the authority to enter into swap agreements. 
 
 
 Special Districts  
 
HB 2651 – Road Enhancement Improvement Districts 
Chapter 104 (Burges) 
The legislation allows a county improvement district that was formed for the purpose of 
road enhancements to be converted to a road enhancement improvement district either 
by a resolution of the county board of supervisors (BOS) or through petition by at least 
50 percent of the property owners in the county improvement district.  It prescribes the 
process for noticing alterations to the road enhancement improvement district, 
designates liabilities for cost and expenses incurred during the conversion process, and 
specifies that the road enhancement improvement district attains all assets, liabilities, 
interest and all rights of the former county improvement district.  Services provided to 
the road enhancement improvement district by the county are subject to reimbursement.  
The bill allows the BOS to grant an elected board the authority to govern the road 
enhancement improvement district after its establishment, and outlines the processes 
for doing so.  The BOS does not have veto authority over financial transactions of the 
elected board, but the BOS is granted the authority to revoke the power of the elected 
board at any time.   
 
HB 2360 – Flood Control Districts; Immunity 
Chapter 222 (Fann) 
The bill provides flood control districts and their employees immunity from damages that 
arise out of a plan or design for construction, maintenance or improvement of certain 
structures if a reasonably adequate warning is given to potentially affected property 
owners in a manner that the owners may take suitable precautions to protect 
themselves and their property.  The immunity from damages is applicable if the project 
is funded wholly or partially by federal monies and/or if the project is planned or 
designed to meet a recurrence interval approved by the district’s board of directors.  A 
warning is sufficient if it is provided to a single property owner of the parcel; notice to 
subsequent property owners is not required.  The bill also allows nonresident 
landowners to run for the flood control district board. 
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HB 2460 – Special Taxing Districts; Boundaries 
Chapter 226 (Dial) 
Until August 1, 2014, the legislation allows non-contiguous parcels of land to be 
amended into a fire or sanitary district, if the parcel is located in an unincorporated area 
or county island within 2,640 feet of an adjacent district in a county with a population of 
more than two million persons.  It also removes a limitation precluding property owners 
from requesting inclusion in a fire or sanitary district if the property owner resides within 
the boundaries of a proposed district, or is proposed for inclusion in an existing district. 
 
HB 2658 – Flood Control Authority; Relinquishment; District 
Chapter 228 (Pratt) 
The bill states that when a city or town approves a resolution to relinquish its 
assumption of floodplain management and regulation, the flood control district or county 
is not liable for any project that was approved, permitted, initiated, or fully or partially 
constructed while under the floodplain authority of the municipality, including any 
obligation to complete, operate, maintain or repair the project.  For any project for which 
a permit was issued by the city or town while it held floodplain management and that is 
subsequently under more stringent floodplain regulation under district authority, the 
project is deemed a valid nonconforming use that is subject to the more stringent district 
regulation for subsequent substantial improvements or substantial repairs.  
 
For any violation of the city or town’s floodplain regulation authority before 
relinquishment, the municipality continues to be liable for the enforcement against and 
correction of the violation and the district and the county are not liable.  On passage of a 
resolution by the city or town assuming the powers and duties of floodplain 
management and regulation, the municipality is not liable for any aspect of a project that 
was approved, permitted, initiated or fully or partially constructed while under the 
floodplain authority of a district or county, including any obligation to complete, operate, 
maintain or repair the project. 
 
For any project for which a permit was issued by a district or county while it held 
floodplain management and that is subsequently under more stringent floodplain 
regulation under the authority of a city or town, the project is deemed a valid 
nonconforming use that is subject to the more stringent municipal regulation for 
subsequent substantial improvements or substantial repairs.  For any violation of the 
district’s or county’s floodplain regulation authority before relinquishment, the district or 
county continues to be liable for the enforcement against and correction of the violation 
and the city or town is not liable. 
 
HB 2432 – Special District Petitions; Multiple Ownership 
Chapter 264 (Gowan) 
The bill clarifies the number of persons owning property inside the boundaries of the 
proposed district or boundary change for purposes of determining the validity of 
petitions for the creation and boundary changes of special districts.  In the case of 
property assessed by the county assessor, the number of persons owning property 
must be as shown on the most recent assessment of property. In the case of property 
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valued by the Arizona Department of Revenue, the number of persons owning property 
shall be as shown on the most recent valuation of property. If an undivided parcel of 
property is owned by multiple owners, those owners are deemed to be one owner, and 
if a person owns multiple parcels of property, that owner is deemed to be a single 
owner.  Petition signers must be current on taxes and assessments at the time of 
petition review for the signature to be valid.  In a community park maintenance district, a 
leaseholder of real property is not authorized to sign a formation or boundary change 
petition. 
 
SB 1407 – Fire Districts; Boundaries 
Chapter 347 (Driggs) 
The bill makes multiple changes related to the procedures for creating or adjusting fire, 
sanitary or community park maintenance district boundaries; allows individual parcels of 
land to be included in a fire or sanitary district if the parcel is located within 2,640 feet of 
an adjacent district, modifies the procedures for forming a non-contiguous county island 
fire district and expands the ability to form a non-contiguous district to all Arizona 
counties. 
 
It stipulates that a district impact statement for the creation or adjustment of a district 
must contain both a legal and a general description of the area and a list of all taxed 
properties within the proposed district, and an explanation of injuries that may result 
from the proposed district.  It prohibits the county board of supervisors from authorizing 
another petition for a district formation or boundary change of the same type for any 
respective property until the one year period to submit signatures is met or 
extinguished, and states that the assessed valuation of properties within the proposed 
district shall remain fixed for purposes of determining valuation requirements. 
 
It requires a petition for creation or adjustment of a district to include a map and a 
general, but sufficiently detailed, description of the proposed district’s boundaries and a 
list of petition requirements printed on the back of the petition form.  Only the owners of 
taxed property units in a proposed district may sign a petition.  The clerk of the district 
board is required to determine the total assessed valuation required to comply with 
petition requirements.  Tax exempt properties are exempted from consideration in the 
total valuation of a proposed district.  Minor errors in the legal description of property 
shall not invalidate a petition.   
 
Petitions must conform to a sample petition form made available by the Secretary of 
State, effective January 1, 2013. 
 
The person submitting the petitions may file for a one-time 30-day extension on the 
petition hearing if the following criteria are met: 
 There is an insufficient amount of valid signatures; 
 The one-year period to submit signatures has not been extinguished; and 
 The request is made five days prior to the county assessor’s report or the 

conclusion of the hearing. 
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The bill prescribes the procedures for determining the owners of centrally assessed or 
locally assessed property, and stipulates that both single parcels of property owned by 
multiple persons, or multiple parcels of property owned by a single person, will be tallied 
as one person on a petition.   
 
The clerk of the county board of supervisors must include in the hearing notice where a 
copy of the impact statement may be obtained; only owners of taxable property must 
receive a hearing notice. 
 
 
 Taxation and Fees  
 
HB 2123 – Transaction Privilege Tax Reform Committee 
Chapter 114E (Gray) 
The bill establishes the Transaction Privilege Tax Reform Committee (Committee), 
which is tasked with making recommendations related to reform of income taxes and 
transaction privilege taxes, and mitigation of fiscal impacts to counties and 
municipalities.  The bill outlines the Committee membership, which includes one 
member representing Arizona’s counties.  The Committee is statutorily repealed on 
October 31, 2013. 
 
The bill became effective on March 29, 2012. 
 
HB 2608 – Assessed Valuations; Audit 
Chapter 124 (Mesnard) 
The legislation allows the Arizona Department of Revenue to audit county assessor 
property valuations to ensure proper valuation of new construction, and directs the 
governing body of each county, city, town, community college district and school district 
to fix and determine property tax rates based on property valuations determined on or 
before February 10 of the tax year. 
 
HB 2801 – Property Tax Bills; Payment; Interest 
Chapter 130 (Olson) 
The legislation clarifies existing statute regarding forgiveness of interest on delinquent 
property taxes to specify that no interest can be collected on taxes paid in full by 
December 31, regardless of whether the statutory timeframe for doing so has elapsed. 
 
HB 2184 – Fire District; Alternative Tax Rate 
Chapter 158 (Fann) 
The legislation allows a fire district to temporarily increase the tax per $100 of assessed 
valuation from $3.25 to $3.75 when the net assessed valuation of all property in a fire 
district has declined by a total of 25% or more beginning with the 2008 valuation year, if 
certain conditions are met.  The fire district must certify to the county board of 
supervisors and the Property Tax Oversight Commission the total amount of wages paid 
to full-time personnel and the total amount and purpose of all monies retained or 
encumbered by the district within 30 days after the end of the preceding fiscal year in 
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which the rate was increased. The bill also prohibits a fire district with a tax rate over 
$3.25 per $100 of assessed valuation from calling for an override election pursuant to 
statute. 
 
HB 2376 – Court Fees; Payment Method 
Chapter 185 (Farnsworth) 
The bill allows court fees to be paid by alternative methods, including credit cards, 
charge cards, debit cards and electronic funds transfer.  It authorizes the court to 
impose a convenience fee when accepting credit, debit or charge cards or electronic 
transfers for the payment of certain court fees. 
 
HB 2092 – Property Tax Appeals; Valuation; Classification 
Chapter 197 (Harper)  
The legislation expands eligibility for utilizing the Arizona tax court’s simplified small 
claims procedure, modifies the decision-making authority granted to the State Board of 
Equalization with regard to appeals of property valuation or classification and alters the 
circumstances under which new homeowners may judicially appeal the valuation of their 
property.  
 
Prior to March 1 of each year, property owners receive a notice of valuation from the 
county assessor stating the full cash value or limited cash value of their property.  If the 
property owner believes the value or classification is in error or is excessive, they may 
file either an administrative or judicial appeal.  The bill allows taxpayers to use the small 
claims procedures in tax court cases where the full cash value of real or personal 
property does not exceed $2 million, respectively. It also allows new homeowners to 
judicially appeal the valuation of their property if the former owner did not receive final 
judgment or dismissal related to an appeal of the valuation or legal classification in tax 
court. 
 
HB 2094 – Prepaid Wireless E911 Excise Tax 
Chapter 198 (Robson) 
The legislation establishes and levies a prepaid wireless telecommunications E911 
excise tax of 0.8% of the gross proceeds or gross income derived from retail sales of 
prepaid wireless telecommunications service.  It also requires the Arizona Department 
of Revenue to separately account monies from this tax in the Emergency 
Telecommunications Service Revolving Fund.  The Fund was established in 1993 to 
provide finances required for the implementation and operation of a 9-1-1 emergency 
telecommunications service. 
 
HB 2178 – Property Taxes; Refund; Forgiveness 
Chapter 200 (Dial) 
The bill directs the county treasurer to refund taxes paid, and forgive any property taxes 
and accrued penalties due, from property owners that paid taxes between 1987 and 
2009 and already received a refund of the property taxes.  The bill was introduced to 
address a situation outside of Maricopa County that resulted from a lawsuit between the 
United States (on behalf of the Fort Mohave Indian Tribe) and private landholders. 
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The legislation is only effective for one year. 
 
HB 2803 – Personal Property Tax Appeal Deadline 
Chapter 216 (Olson) 
The bill extends the deadline for a taxpayer to file an administrative appeal for review of 
personal property valuation from 20 days to 30 days after the delivery of a notice of 
valuation. 
 
HB 2226 – Property Tax; Algaculture 
Chapter 220 (Heinz) 
The legislation expands the definition of agricultural real property to include land of at 
least five acres and improvements devoted to algaculture.  “Algaculture” is defined as 
the controlled propagation, growth and harvest of algae. 
 
HB 2322 – Watercraft; Registration; Fees 
Chapter 237 (McLain) 
The bill removes all residency language pertaining to nonresident boating registration 
fees, and requires operators of watercraft on the waterways of this state to display the 
assigned number and current annual decals on the watercraft, exempting operators of 
watercraft who are in possession of a valid 30-day temporary registration.  It allows 
insurance companies to obtain watercraft registration information for the purposes of 
verifying owner and watercraft information to facilitate fraud investigations and the 
payment of claims on damaged or stolen watercraft.  The bill also establishes a Boating 
Safety Infrastructure Fee for nonresidents, exempting members of the Armed Forces 
who are on active duty and stationed in Arizona for a period of at least 30 days 
immediately before applying for watercraft registration, and specifies that registration 
fees and the Boating Safety Infrastructure Fee be deposited in the Watercraft Licensing 
Fund.  The Watercraft Registration Fee Clearing Account is deleted from statute. 
 
HB 2332 – Healthy Forest Enterprise Incentives; Extension 
Chapter 331 (Jones) 
The bill extends certain sales, use and income tax incentives for qualified healthy forest 
enterprises (HFEs) in the state through December 31, 2024, and creates new individual 
and corporate income tax credits for training new workers in ecological restoration.  
 
The bill impacts state transaction privilege taxes (TPT) by exempting the sales of motor 
vehicle fuel and use fuel sold to qualified HFE businesses from TPT and use taxes. The 
fuel must be used in off-road harvesting, processing or transporting qualifying forest 
products in order to qualify for the exemption.  It also exempts the sales of repair parts 
that are installed in equipment used directly by a qualified HFE business for harvesting, 
processing or transporting qualifying forest products and equipment leased or rented by 
an HFE from TPT and use taxes.  (Previously, the TPT exemption was only on leases 
that were for five years; this bill removes the time limitation for that exemption.)  The bill 
reinstitutes the discount on fuel used by vehicles transporting forest products (i.e. use 
fuel tax) and discounts the use fuel tax for vehicles transporting forest products on 
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highways in Arizona from 13 to 9 cents per gallon, applicable through December 31, 
2024. Although the current statutory tax is 13 cents per gallon, the 13-cent rate expired 
in 2010 and users are currently paying 26 cents per gallon.  The bill temporarily applies 
the new 9-cent fuel tax rate on the first day of September 2012.   It also reinstitutes the 
prime contracting TPT exemption for gross income earned on construction contracts 
with an HFE by applying the exemption to actual construction beginning before January 
1, 2024, rather than before January 1, 2010. 
 
The legislation reinstates the Class 6 property tax classification for property owned by a 
HFE by qualifying property that was constructed or installed before December 31, 2024, 
rather than by December 31, 2010. It also reinstitutes the prime contracting TPT 
exemption for gross income earned on construction contracts with an HFE by applying 
the exemption to actual construction beginning before January 1, 2024, rather than 
before January 1, 2010. 
 
HB 2815 – Employment; Incentives; Regulatory Tax Credit  
Chapter 343 (Mesnard) 
The legislation establishes individual and corporate income tax credits for capital 
investments and employment in new or expanded commercial headquarters and 
manufacturing and research facilities.  It extends the Renewable Energy Credit by five 
years, eliminates the cap on the number of net new employees for which a company 
may annually claim the New Employment Tax Credit, reduces taxation on individual 
long-term net capital gains, and provides an income tax subtraction equal to 10 percent 
of the federal bonus depreciation allowance.  It broadens the net operating loss 
carryover timeframe and establishes the Employer-Funded Job Training Program Study 
Committee.  
 
The bill also modifies the calculation for determining the business personal property 
exemption amount by basing the percentage increase in the Employer Cost Index on 
the past two fiscal years, rather than the most recent fiscal year. 
 
HB 2478 – Property Tax; Facilities  
Chapter 349 (Carter) 
The bill limits the application of a Class 9 assessment to improvements and property 
used exclusively for athletic, recreational, entertainment, artistic, and cultural facilities or 
used primarily for convention activities, and requires that the improvements become the 
property of the government entity upon the termination of the lease (with the exception 
of those used for convention activities). 
 
HB 2486 – Homeowners’ Rebate Affidavit  
Chapter 350 (Court) 
The legislation modifies the definition of Class 3 property and the criteria for 
distinguishing primary, secondary and rental property.  It prohibits the classification of 
property occupied by a qualifying member of the owner’s family as secondary or rental 
property, and eliminates the current statutory affidavit requirement.  It requires the 
county assessor to mail notice to each Class 3 property owner whose property the 
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assessor has reason to believe is not a primary residence or is being rented, if the 
owner: 
 Has a mailing address outside the county in which the property is located; 
 Has a mailing address (other than a post office box) that is different than the 

address of the property; 
 Has the same mailing address listed for more than one parcel of Class 3 

property; or 
 Appears to be a business entity. 

 
The bill allows the owners of certain Class 4 and Class 2 properties to have their 
classification reviewed for a change in status to Class 3 if the property is occupied as a 
primary residence by the owner (for Class 4) or by a qualifying family member (for Class 
2), and requires the assessor to prominently display the following information in the 
annual notice of full cash value: 
 The definition of Class 3 property; and 
 A statement informing property owners of their obligation to notify the assessor if 

the property does not meet the definition, and of the corresponding civil penalty 
for failing to do so. 

 
The legislation also replaces the existing civil penalty with an amount equal to the 
additional state aid paid, requires that the petition for assessor review of improper 
valuation or classification for Class 3 property contain simplified instructions and be 
separate from petition forms used for other classes of property. 
 
SB 1416 – Property Tax; Agriculture Classification; Affidavit 
Chapter 182 (Griffin) 
The bill reduces the number of years land is required to be used for agricultural 
purposes in order to be classified as agricultural property from seven of the last ten 
years to three of the last five years, and requires an affidavit of agricultural use to be 
filed with the county assessor to satisfy classification criteria.  
 
SB 1229 – Tax Exemption; Residential Solar Electricity 
Chapter 232 (Griffin) 
The legislation excludes the transfer of solar photovoltaic electricity to an electric utility 
distribution system from the definition of “business” for purposes of transaction privilege 
tax and use taxes.  It deducts the portion of gross proceeds of sales or gross income 
attributable to the transfer of solar photovoltaic electricity to an electric utility distribution 
system from the tax base of the utilities classification, excludes sales or transfers of 
renewable energy credits from the retail and utilities classification and exempts the sale 
or transfer of renewable energy credits from use tax. 
 
SB 1214 – Use Tax Declaration; Repeal 
Chapter 323 (Biggs) 
The legislation eliminates the use tax declaration requirement on the individual income 
tax return, retroactive to taxable years beginning from and after December 31, 2011.  
The requirement, which was established by Laws 2011, Chapter 128, required a person 
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who stores, uses or consumes tangible personal property subject to use tax for non-
business purposes to declare the annual amount of tax due, if not collected by a 
registered retailer, on their individual income tax return.  
 
SB 1279 – Personal Property Tax; Computer Software  
Chapter 324 (Yarbrough) 
The legislation requires that business computers and certain software be valued and 
assessed as personal property. Arizona law defines personal property as property of 
every kind, both tangible and intangible, not included in the term “real estate.” The bill 
prohibits any other software not designated as operating system software from being 
valued as personal property. 
 
SB 1442 – Prime Contracting; Manufacturing Facilities; Infrastructure 
Chapter 328 (Yarbrough) 
The legislation requires the state treasurer to make monthly payments to a city, town or 
county from the prime contracting tax distribution base to fund up to 80% of the cost of 
public infrastructure improvements to benefit a manufacturing facility if the facility is a 
minimum $500 million dollar investment. The bill is designed to reimburse the City of 
Chandler for costs associated with the latest Intel chip fabrication unit, which will require 
major infrastructure upgrades of city services.  
 
SCR 1012 – Personal Property Tax Exemption Amount 
(Biggs) 
The concurrent resolution proposes an amendment to the Arizona Constitution to 
increase the full cash value amount of personal property used for agricultural, trade or 
business purposes that is exempt from property taxes to an amount equal to the 
earnings of fifty Arizona workers, in accordance with a designated national measure of 
earnings per employee. 
 
The SCR will be put before voters in November 2012.  If approved by voters, the 
increased exemption amount would apply to personal property initially acquired after 
December 31, 2012.  The existing $50,000 ($68,079 as adjusted for inflation) 
constitutional exemption for personal property would remain for property initially 
acquired prior to tax year 2013. 
 
SCR 1025 – Property Tax Assessed Valuation; Limitation 
(Yarbrough) 
If approved by voters in November 2012, the concurrent resolution would limit the 
annual growth of limited property value to the lesser of the full cash value or an amount 
five percent greater than the property’s prior year value, beginning in tax year 2015. 
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 Governor’s Veto Letters/Bill Messages 
 

 
HB 2062 – DUI; Assessment; Ignition Interlock 
(Brophy McGee) 
The bill would have allowed a city or town council of the city or town in which the 
municipal court is located to impose an assessment on a DUI offender, not to exceed 
$300, if the person is convicted in municipal court and the court does not order the 
person to reimburse the political subdivision for incarceration costs.  The money would 
have been used to defray incarceration costs. 
 
HB 2088 – ASRS; Amendments 
(Robson) 
The bill would have made various changes to the Arizona State Retirement System 
Statutes relating to administration, member distributions, health benefits, investments, 
receivables and service purchase.  Following the Governor’s veto, similar changes were 
passed in HB 2745. 
 
HB 2433 – Bail Bond Agents 
(Gowan) 
The legislation would have made numerous changes to the requirements governing bail 
bonds agents lists and the areas in which such businesses could solicit customers.  It 
would also have outlined limitations on those who could be employed by a bail bond 
agent. 
 
HB 2434 – Notification; Federal Law Enforcement Officers 
(Gowan) 
The proposal would have required federal law enforcement officers to notify the county 
sheriff before taking any official law enforcement action. 
 
HB 2469 – Revenue Allocation Districts 
(R. Gray) 
The bill would have authorized the creation of a new special taxing district, referred to 
as a revenue allocation district, to fund economic development related projects within 
the boundaries of the municipality in which it resides from incremental increases in 
property and transaction privilege taxes over fixed base amounts. 
 
HB 2495 – Counties; Purchases; Local Dealers 
(Jones) 
The legislation would have allowed the county purchasing agent, where the estimated 
purchase cost is in excess of $50,000, to award a contract to a local dealer in 
preference to any competing bidder who is not a local dealer if the bid of the competing 
bidder, quality and suitability considered, is less than five percent lower, subject to 
approval by the county board of supervisors. 
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HB 2557 – Intersection; Definition 
(Vogt) 
The bill would have modified the definition of “intersection” when at a location controlled 
by a traffic control signal, and would have been effective January 1, 2014. 
 
HB 2647 – County Stadium Districts; Rio Nuevo 
(Vogt) 
The proposal would have established a prime contracting transaction privilege tax (TPT) 
exemption allowance for certain construction projects within multipurpose facilities 
districts, and expanded the types of projects for which district TPT revenues could be 
used. 
 
HB 2696 – Vulnerable Adults; Financial Exploitation 
(Ash) 
The bill would have stated that a vulnerable adult is not exploited if the person’s assets 
are transferred for the primary purpose of obtaining or maintaining eligibility for benefits 
under the Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System, Supplement Security 
Income, Medicaid, Medicare or Veterans’ Administration programs. 
 
HB 2729 – State Regulation of Firearms 
(Gowan) 
The bill would have required the state and local governments to provide specified 
security measures in order to prohibit firearms inside a government-owned building.  It 
would have allowed a person to file suit if any ordinance, regulation, measure, directive, 
rule, enactment, order, or policy was enacted or enforced in violation of the law.  The 
proposal would have excluded county stadium districts. 
 
HB 2757 – Billboards; Changing Message; Authorization 
(Robson) 
The bill would have permitted billboards that are capable of changing messages 
mechanically or electronically to be displayed along an interstate, but would have 
allowed a city or county to enforce or enact an ordinance regulating billboards including 
the lighting of billboards. 
 
SB 1182 – National Defense Act; Compliance 
(Allen) 
The legislation would have prohibited the state and any agency of the state from 
implementing sections 1021 and 1022 of the National Defense Authorization Act.  It 
would have required the director of the Department of Public Safety or a county sheriff 
to report to the Governor and the legislature any attempt by the federal government to 
implement sections 1021 and 1022 of the NDAA, and would have established a Class 1 
misdemeanor, punishable by six months in jail and a $2,000 fine, for any public officer, 
employee or agency of the state who enforced or attempted to enforce the sections of 
the National Defense Authorization Act. 
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SB 1200 – Political Signs; Hazardous Locations 
(Allen) 
The bill would have required a city, town or county to notify a candidate or committee in 
writing (including electronic correspondence) and refer to the particular conditions of a 
specific sign and location if they determined a political sign was in a hazardous location.  
A local government could not have removed, altered, defaced, or covered a political 
sign on private property.  It would have allowed a political candidate to attach a sign (no 
more than 32 square feet) to a state highway or right-of-way fence 60 days before a 
primary election and 15 days after a general election, and it would have made a primary 
election term begin on the day that early ballots are first mailed to the voters.  It would 
have also authorized a property owner to remove any political sign from a public right-
of-way that was adjacent to their property. 
 
SB 1310 – Small Claims Division; Jurisdiction; Limits 
(Antenori) 
The proposal would have increased the jurisdictional limit for cases within the small 
claims division of the justice courts from $2,500 to $5,000. 
 
SB 1332 – Federal Lands; Conveyance 
(Melvin) 
The bill demanded that the federal government extinguish title and transfer title of all 
public lands, including national monuments, national forests and wildlife refuges, to the 
state on or before December 31, 2014.  If the state sold public lands, it would have had 
to deposit 5% of the net proceeds of the sale in the permanent state school fund and 
pay 95% of the net proceeds of the sale to the federal government. 
 
The Arizona Public Lands Board of Review (Board) would have had to recommend 
legislation to create a commission to administer the disposal of public lands and modify 
associated definitions, establish the conditions under which the state may cede land to 
the federal government for national park and recreational purposes and establish the 
requirements related to nation forests, national monuments, national recreation areas 
and other public lands administered by the federal government. 
 
The Board findings were to be sent to the Governor, President of the Senate and 
Speaker of the House of Representatives on or before November 30, 2012. 
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Index of County Interest Bills 
 

Bill No. Chapter No. Reference Title Page No. 
HB 2019 23 Sex Offender Registration; Multiple 

Residences 
3 

HB 2020 111 Honor and Remember Flag; Half-Staff 18 
HB 2029 218 Child Care; Day Camps; Exemption 12 
HB 2033 361 Public Electronic Posting; Government Bodies 10 
HB 2048 37 County Officers 18 
HB 2061 113 HELP Advisory Committee; Repeal 34 
HB 2062 Vetoed DUI; Assessment; Ignition Interlock 50, 53 
HB 2063 90 Community Health Centers; Walk-In Patients 33 
HB 2070 234 License Eligibility; Authorized Presence 22 
HB 2073 235E Emissions Testing; Motorcycles; Extension 12 
HB 2088 Vetoed ASRS; Amendments 50, 54 
HB 2092 197 Property Tax Appeals; Valuation; 

Classification 
45 

HB 2094 198 Prepaid Wireless E911 Excise Tax 45 
HB 2122 199 Powers; Board of Supervisors 21 
HB 2123 114E Transaction Privilege Tax Reform Committee 44 
HB 2130 25 Disease Testing; Public Safety Employees 29 
HB 2150 115 Unemployment Insurance; Independent 

Contractor; Appeals 
27 

HB 2154 314 Child Restraint Systems 30 
HB 2155 156 Controlled Substances; Workers’ 

Compensation 
27 

HB 2165 157 Veterans; Employment Preference 28 
HB 2178 200 Property Taxes; Refund; Forgiveness 45 
HB 2184 158 Fire District; Alternative Tax Rate 44 
HB 2199 251 Environmental Audit Privilege 13 
HB 2215 201 Probation Officers; Witness; Representation 30 
HB 2226 220 Property Tax; Algaculture 46 
HB 2248 49 Employer Reporting Requirements; New 

Employees 
27 

HB 2263 330 Methamphetamine Precursor Logging System 22 
HB 2264 304E ASRS; Employee; Employer Contributions; 

Rate 
39 

HB 2272 116E Clinical Trial; Public Information Requests 19 
HB 2283 40 State Employee Benefits; Definition 2, 38 
HB 2284 236E DUI; Jury Trial 5 
HB 2286 252 Driver License Violations; Suspensions 5 
HB 2319 110 Notice; Claim; Private Property Rights 18 
HB 2322 237 Watercraft; Registration; Fees 46 
HB 2332 331 Healthy Forest Enterprise Incentives; 

Extension 
46 

HB 2347 221 Public Transportation Authorities; Board 35 
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Membership 
HB 2350 205 Cities; Counties; Regulations 35 
HB 2360 222 Flood Control Districts; Immunity 41 
HB 2368 240 Workers’ Comp; Omnibus 28 
HB 2369 184 Electronic Medical Records 4 
HB 2370 60 Death Certificates 2, 33 
HB 2372 118 Agricultural Improvement Districts; Voting 8 
HB 2374 52 Deferred Prosecution programs; Conditions 3 
HB 2376 185 Court Fees; Payment Method 45 
HB 2377 223 Incapacitated Persons; Voting Rights 8 
HB 2382 96 Criminal Offenses; Sentencing 4 
HB 2389 254 Lease of County Property; Requirements 22 
HB 2390 97 Home Detention Programs 4 
HB 2408 120 Special Audit; Pima County 19 
HB 2409 348 PSPRS; Pension Buyback Payments 39 
HB 2417 224 Written Communication; Electronic Delivery; 

Definition 
21 

HB 2432 264 Special District Petitions; Multiple Ownership 42 
HB 2433 Vetoed Bail Bond Agents 50, 55 
HB 2434 Vetoed Notification; Federal Law Enforcement 

Officers 
50, 56 

HB 2438 176 Government Land; Private Land; Study 20 
HB 2442 208 Prisoners; Payment for Drug Testing 4 
HB 2446 121 Liquid Petroleum Gas; Emergency Aid 19 
HB 2449 209 Supreme Court; Audit; Hearing 4 
HB 2460 226 Special Taxing Districts; Boundaries 41 
HB 2462 73 Animals; Seizure; Hearing; Forfeiture 3 
HB 2469 Vetoed Revenue Allocation Districts 50, 57 
HB 2477 100 Farm Implements; Vehicle Implement; 

Inspections 
34 

HB 2478 349 Property Tax; Facilities 47 
HB 2486 350 Homeowners’ Rebate Affidavit 47 
HB 2491 210 Module Mover Vehicles 35 
HB 2495 Vetoed Counties; Purchases; Local Dealers 50, 59 
HB 2519 162 Unemployment Insurance; Omnibus 28 
HB 2520 101 Pesticide Buffer Zones; Health Care 12 
HB 2532 334 Court-Ordered Treatment 6 
HB 2543 316 Signs; Traffic Control; Outdoor Advertising 35 
HB 2549 359 Electronic; Digital Devices; Stalking; 

Threatening 
23 

HB 2550 268 Victims’ Rights; Criminal Offense 30 
HB 2556 269 Criminal Restitution Order 5 
HB 2557 Vetoed Intersection; Definition 51, 61 
HB 2559 243 Victims’ Rights; Courtroom Posting 5 
HB 2560 163 Adult Protective Services; Attorney Fees 33 
HB 2561 123 Building Code; Exception 19 
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HB 2578 306 School Facilities Board; Revisions 22 
HB 2601 227 Wage Claims; Filing 28 
HB 2605 74 Law Enforcement Dogs; Biting 3 
HB 2606 336 Liquor Omnibus 22 
HB 2608 124 Assessed Valuations; Audit 44 
HB 2621 126 Local Government Budgets; Posting; 

Contents 
19 

HB 2643 287 Duty Related Injury; Police Officer 29 
HB 2647 Vetoed County Stadium Districts; Rio Nuevo 51, 63 
HB 2651 104 Road Enhancement Improvement Districts 41 
HB 2658 228 Flood Control Authority; Relinquishment; 

District 
42 

HB 2662 273 ASRS: Employees; Election; Enrollment 38 
HB 2673 164 Overdimensional Loads 34 
HB 2676 339 Government Entities; Attorney Fees 7 
HB 2696 Vetoed Vulnerable Adults; Financial Exploitation 51, 66 
HB 2712 166 Computer Access for Minors 20 
HB 2722 275 Elections; Polling Places; Electioneering 8 
HB 2723 276 Law Enforcement Officer; Discipline; 

Information 
30 

HB 2729 Vetoed State Regulation of Firearms 51, 67 
HB 2744 352 Regulatory Rules; Amendments 23 
HB 2745 362 PSPRS; Employer Contributions 39 
HB 2753 215 Notice; Claim; Public Entity; Employee 28 
HB 2757 Vetoed Billboards; Changing Message; Authorization 51, 69 
HB 2760 129 Publicity Pamphlets; Bond Elections 8 
HB 2780 258 Animal Cruelty; Ranching Dogs 3 
HB 2798 308 Air Quality; Dust Plan; Reports 13 
HB 2799 169 Voluntary Environmental Stewardship 

Program 
12 

HB 2800 288 Public Funding; Family Planning; Prohibition 34 
HB 2801 130 Property Tax Bills; Payment; Interest 44 
HB 2803 216 Personal Property Tax Appeal Deadline 46 
HB 2815 343 Employment; Incentives; Regulatory Tax 

Credit 
47 

HB 2826 353 Consolidated Election Dates; Political 
Subdivisions 

9 

HB 2830 230 Energy & Water Savings Account 21 
HCM2004  Transportation Funding; Restore to States 16 
HCM2007  Federal Balanced Budget Amendment 16 
HCR2004  State Sovereignty 16 
HCR2034  FEMA; Flood Map Review 17 
HCR2061  F-35 Training; Luke AFB; Support 17 
HCR2062  F-35 Training; Arizona Facilities 17 
HM 2001  Future Interstate; U.S. Highway 93 18 
SB 1001 278 Military Preservation; Land Exchanges 25 
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SB 1016 12 Workers’ Compensation 29 
SB 1040 285 County Highways; County Engineer 

Recommendations 
38 

SB 1048 61 Elections; Candidates 11 
SB 1075 135 State Forester; Wildfire Resource Deployment 25 
SB 1115 63 PSPRS Investment Contracts 40 
SB 1116 139 PSPRS; CORP; EORP Amendments 41 
SB 1117 87 ASRS; Administration 40 
SB 1119 88 ASRS; Spousal Consent 40 
SB 1124 137 ADOT Contracts; Surplus Lines 37 
SB 1131 41 Transportation Project Advancement Notes 36 
SB 1136 188 Fingerprinting; Central Registry; Background 

Checks 
25 

SB 1141 172 Public Fiduciaries; Investigatory Power 2, 33 
SB 1142 179 Jurors; Arizona Lengthy Trial Fund 7 
SB 1152 180 Homeless Court; Establishment; Jurisdiction 2, 7 
SB 1171 17 Arizona Geological Survey; Powers; Duties 24 
SB 1182 Vetoed National Defense Act; Compliance 51, 71 
SB 1185 140 School Safety Program; Requirement 30 
SB 1186 355 Law Enforcement Officers; Omnibus 31 
SB 1193 322 Proposed Rules; Acceptable Data 26 
SB 1194 79 ASRS; Nonparticipatory Employer; Liabilities 40 
SB 1197 144 Law Enforcement; Overtime Compensation 31 
SB 1198 145 Town Elections; Signature Requirements 11 
SB 1200 Vetoed Political Signs; Hazardous Locations 52, 72 
SB 1210 84 Right of Intervention; Initiative; Referendum 24 
SB 1212 356 Law Enforcement Officers; Just Cause 32 
SB 1214 323 Use Tax Declaration; Repeal 48 
SB 1216 261 Emergency Vehicle Access Plan; ADOT 38 
SB 1220 147 Child Care Facilities 14 
SB 1225 44 Superior Court Clerk; Arbitration; Records 24 
SB 1229 232 Tax Exemption; Residential Solar Electricity 48 
SB 1230 148 Ballot Appearance; General Election; Write-

ins 
11 

SB 1232 192 Vehicle Permit Fees; Excess Weight 37 
SB 1237 249 Wildfire; Notice of Violation; Pollutants 15 
SB 1241 173 Forfeiture of Weapons and Explosives 25 
SB 1279 324 Personal Property Tax; Computer Software 49 
SB 1281 18 Public Roads; County Maintenance 36 
SB 1287 233 Aquifer Protection Permits; Waste 14 
SB 1289 262 Storm Water Discharges; Construction Sites 15 
SB 1297 292 Agricultural Best Management Committee; 

Continuation 
16 

SB 1310 Vetoed Small Claims Division; Jurisdiction; Limits 52, 74 
SB 1332 Vetoed Federal Lands; Conveyance 52, 75 
SB 1369 153 Crime Victim Advocates; Privileged 7 
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Communications 
SB 1402 195 Broadband Conduit Installation; Right-of-way; 

ADOT 
37 

SB 1407 347 Fire Districts; Boundaries 43 
SB 1416 182 Property Tax; Agriculture Classification; 

Affidavit 
48 

SB 1438 327 Drug Lab Remediation; Investigators 16 
SB 1442 328 Prime Contracting; Manufacturing Facilities; 

Infrastructure 
49 

SB1135 64 Government Deposits 24 
SCM1008  Military Bases; Exemption from ESA 18 
SCR1001  Military Preservation; Land Exchanges 27 
SCR1012  Personal Property Tax Exemption Amount 49 
SCR1025  Property Tax Assessed Valuation; Limitation 49 
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